W 10 Back up

placidarc

Baseband Member
Hi. I have a laptop with a 500 Gb hard drive. I have just bought a 1Tb external hard drive for back up purposes. This is my first attempt at backing up my hard drive. My question is what should I back up in the first place and then what should I back up in the future. I intend to use MS back up feature.

Regards.Mike

This is vexed question at the moment for me anyway. First of all you need to back up all your personal files. I wouldn't worry too much about the programs and operating system as those will be available either as downloads or as CDs/DVDs if you have purchased the program.

Now on to why this a problem. You say that you are going to use the MS backup feature. I assume that this is the one included in Windows 10, although you do not say what operating system you are using. Anyway if it is the Windows 10 backup and recovery system you are going to use be very careful. I have yet to make this work. I haven't posted this on here because I have asked this question on other forums and I am getting wildly conflicting answers. What I can categorically state is that the Windows 10 Backup and Recovery system has not worked for me and I have tried it on three different computers.

What does work is Macrium Relect that will clone your present hard drive to another, bigger hard drive but that isn't really a backup. Paragon backup tools are also good and they are both free programs..

Macrium Reflect Free

https://www.paragon-software.com/home/br-free/

I would also suggest that you download the Microsoft ISO to make a USB flash drive Windows 10 reinstallation drive. This will install a clean copy of Windows 10 on to your computer so you MUST ensure that your personal files are backed up to somwewhere else BEFORE you use this flash drive.

https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/software-download/windows10