Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2008, 02:59 PM   #1
Guru
 
JogaBonito1502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 7,841
Default Zango

Is this thing bad? Rapidshare and Megaupload are making me install it before I can download anything. If you know a way around this please post as I'd rather not have Zango on my computer. I installed it for now. I will uninstall later unless it's harmless. I don't mind it taking up my RAM if it will allow me to access these sites. Please post any other information you feel is important.
__________________

__________________
JogaBonito1502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 03:04 PM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
D-Lew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,793
Send a message via AIM to D-Lew
Default Re: Zango

I believe it's epic spyware. And pretty tough to remove. Just look on google when you get ready.
__________________

__________________
D-Lew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 03:07 PM   #3
Site Team
 
celegorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,720
Send a message via AIM to celegorm
Default Re: Zango

It's spyware. It in itself doesn't do much, but it does make it easier for other things to get in. Kinda like weatherbug.
__________________
"as a fanboy i refuse to admit it and will pull countless things out of my butt to disprove it"

Team Thelegorm! Total Kills: 21 (i iz in uor profile, editsing your sigz)
celegorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 03:07 PM   #4
Golden Master
 
01001010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,888
Default Re: Zango

You need to do your own research, before installing any program.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zango
__________________
Stop the genocide now.
↳ www.savedarfur.org

Send comments, suggestions and criticisms.
↳ 01001010listens@gmail.com
01001010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 03:19 PM   #5
Guru
 
JogaBonito1502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 7,841
Default Re: Zango

Now to get this off...Spybot S&D and Comodo are on it. If they don't find anything I'm going safemode.

edit: What do you know. Spybot caught it already.

--

Is there any other way for me to download stuff now? How do I get around the thing for Zango.
__________________
JogaBonito1502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 03:30 PM   #6
Golden Master
 
freestyler105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,883
Default Re: Zango

Um...neither of those sites should be making you install anything before downloading stuff...
__________________
C2D E6600 | 4GB DDR2-800 | 9800GTX+ | Asus P5B-E | 150GB Raptor | 320GB 7200.10 | 750W Xigmatek PSU
freestyler105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 03:34 PM   #7
Golden Master
 
01001010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,888
Default Re: Zango

I'd uninstall it.

http://searchg.symantec.com/search?q...xt=gbh&x=0&y=0
__________________
Stop the genocide now.
↳ www.savedarfur.org

Send comments, suggestions and criticisms.
↳ 01001010listens@gmail.com
01001010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 04:09 PM   #8
Fully Optimized
 
FlightSimBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,114
Send a message via AIM to FlightSimBoy
Default Re: Zango

If it comes down to it, use HijackThis.

Here's instructions on how to remove it from PC Hell: http://www.pchell.com/support/zango.shtml
__________________
My Computer: eMachines T5226 - Intel Pentium D Dual Core @ 3 GHz - Diamond Viper Radeon HD3870 OC Edition with 1 GB GDDR3 VRAM - 4 GB PQi Turbo DDR2-533 RAM - Corsair 650W PSU with 52A on single rail - TSSTcorp DVD-DL+-RW combo drive - Lite-on 52x CD-RW burner - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeGamer - Logitech z5300e speakers - WinFast TV Tuner - Vista Ultimate 64-Bit. eBay name: Flightsimboy304
FlightSimBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 05:35 PM   #9
Guru
 
JogaBonito1502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 7,841
Default Re: Zango

Zango is no match for Spybot S&D in Safe Mode. They keep asking me to install Zango before I download anything..
__________________
JogaBonito1502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 07:20 PM   #10
Fully Optimized
 
FlightSimBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,114
Send a message via AIM to FlightSimBoy
Default Re: Zango

You might have some other form of ad/spyware on your PC then. Zango usually isn't associated with Rapidshare and Megaupload.

Might wanna try Ad-Aware.
__________________
My Computer: eMachines T5226 - Intel Pentium D Dual Core @ 3 GHz - Diamond Viper Radeon HD3870 OC Edition with 1 GB GDDR3 VRAM - 4 GB PQi Turbo DDR2-533 RAM - Corsair 650W PSU with 52A on single rail - TSSTcorp DVD-DL+-RW combo drive - Lite-on 52x CD-RW burner - Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeGamer - Logitech z5300e speakers - WinFast TV Tuner - Vista Ultimate 64-Bit. eBay name: Flightsimboy304
FlightSimBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 07:56 PM   #11
Fully Optimized
 
D-Lew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,793
Send a message via AIM to D-Lew
Default Re: Zango

The only place I've seen that is the RS/MU file search engines.
__________________
D-Lew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 08:23 PM   #12
Fully Optimized
 
spywarebanisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,135
Default Re: Zango

lol.... u DEFINITELY have some more spyware!

use this. http://www.spywareinfo.com/xscan.php

and then use superantispyware which is like 9x btr than spybot from here

FREE VERSION: http://www.superantispyware.com/down...NTISPYWAREFREE
__________________
amd athlon x2 4800+ 2.5ghz / 4gb ddr2 800mhz mushkin/ ZOTAC 8600gt 256mb / 320gb HDD 7200RPM / 250 watt psu
spywarebanisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 09:41 PM   #13
Golden Master
 
freestyler105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,883
Default Re: Zango

Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Lew View Post
The only place I've seen that is the RS/MU file search engines.
Ah. In that case, find some better search engines. And do a full system sweep for viruses and spyware in safe mode.
__________________
C2D E6600 | 4GB DDR2-800 | 9800GTX+ | Asus P5B-E | 150GB Raptor | 320GB 7200.10 | 750W Xigmatek PSU
freestyler105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 11:04 PM   #14
Guru
 
JogaBonito1502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 7,841
Default Re: Zango

I did use it. It comes up with nothing. Can anyone do a test for me. The latest place where I saw the zango thing was on a link from here.

http://www.animeupload.com/free-downloads/634.html

That's just a random Anime I picked. But can anyone try it and see if you get it?
__________________
JogaBonito1502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 11:10 PM   #15
Fully Optimized
 
_-..zKiLLA..-_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,952
Send a message via AIM to _-..zKiLLA..-_
Default Re: Zango

its that site. dont go there
__________________
My beast lappy: Acer netbook, 1.6ghz atom dual core, 2gb ddr3
My PSN: Kalikid_420
_-..zKiLLA..-_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 11:12 PM   #16
Guru
 
JogaBonito1502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 7,841
Default Re: Zango

Really? You get it too? So I don't have spyware?

edit: Oo...superantispyware found something. I think I'm gonna keep the program. It can catch the leaks from Spybot.
__________________
JogaBonito1502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 11:16 PM   #17
Fully Optimized
 
_-..zKiLLA..-_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,952
Send a message via AIM to _-..zKiLLA..-_
Default Re: Zango

yeah cuz i download bunches of stuff from RS and MU its just that anime site
__________________
My beast lappy: Acer netbook, 1.6ghz atom dual core, 2gb ddr3
My PSN: Kalikid_420
_-..zKiLLA..-_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 11:18 PM   #18
Guru
 
JogaBonito1502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 7,841
Default Re: Zango

I don't know about that. I wasn't getting them 2 weeks ago. Then I stopped downloading to watch what I had. The spyware spywarebanisher recommended me found some ad-ware from Zango. Rep is on his way =]
__________________
JogaBonito1502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 11:26 PM   #19
Fully Optimized
 
spywarebanisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,135
Default Re: Zango

and did u just try to spread spyware to us thru that link?!
__________________
amd athlon x2 4800+ 2.5ghz / 4gb ddr2 800mhz mushkin/ ZOTAC 8600gt 256mb / 320gb HDD 7200RPM / 250 watt psu
spywarebanisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 11:31 PM   #20
Guru
 
JogaBonito1502's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: U.S.
Posts: 7,841
Default Re: Zango

Ha, no. I'm not a dick. I wanted you to test it. The site is perfectly fine. I tried on another computer. It's just me. I must have gotten some ad-ware somewhere else. Thank you for the recommendation.

Edit: I ran the program spywareb recommend 3x and spybot 2x. I think it's all gone. I don't see the thing anymore.
__________________

__________________
JogaBonito1502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
×