Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2009, 05:35 PM   #1
Fully Optimized
 
99nasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,995
Default Windows 7!

Hey guys, hope everyones ok, aint been on here for ages.

I just came on to ask if anyones being playing with windows 7? I'm loving it

__________________

__________________
99nasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 05:45 PM   #2
Fully Optimized
 
vampist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,404
Default Re: Windows 7!

I have yet to dabble with it. But I will probably end up trying it sooner or later. How is it?
__________________

__________________
Everyone's Favorite Turd xD
ET: "Phone home!"
Geek: "ping 127.0.0.1"

"If that guy knew half the $h*t that I know, his fuzzy little head would explode. " - Matthew Farrell
vampist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 05:50 PM   #3
Golden Master
 
Tommy Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 8,463
Send a message via Yahoo to Tommy Boy
Default Re: Windows 7!

Yep, I'm dual booting Vista and Windows 7 RC. I like W7 a lot, it runs well, is stable and fast. The only thing I don't like is the taskbar and the absence of the quick launch, plus it's not as nice looking as Vista's taskbar.
__________________
When all else fails...Ham Radio!

I still have the same old HP DV9700T laptop I've had for years...still kickin'
Tommy Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 05:53 PM   #4
Daemon Poster
 
culexor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,132
Send a message via AIM to culexor
Default Re: Windows 7!

Yeah, I love it. I have a separate hard drive for it so I didn't have to bother partitioning my XP drive. So far it's been great. It looks elegant, and runs very well. I haven't booted XP in about 2 weeks now that I've gotten used to Windows 7. I still have all of my documents and whatnot from XP so there's really no use in using XP. My XP installation needs to be repaired anyways (BSODs almost daily, just running sluggishly). I'd definately buy Windows 7 when it is officially released (or when the RC expires).
__________________
Desktop: Phenom II B50 3.1Ghz, 4GB DDR2 800, Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P, 2x 1TB RAID0, GTX 460 1GB, OCZ 600W, ABS Black Pearl

Laptop: i5 430M 2.26Ghz, 4GB DDR3 1066, 500GB WD Blue, Mobility Radeon HD 5650 1GB (discrete)
culexor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 05:54 PM   #5
Fully Optimized
 
99nasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,995
Default Re: Windows 7!

Quote:
Originally Posted by vampist View Post
I have yet to dabble with it. But I will probably end up trying it sooner or later. How is it?
It ace so far, faster than vista.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommy Boy View Post
Yep, I'm dual booting Vista and Windows 7 RC. I like W7 a lot, it runs well, is stable and fast. The only thing I don't like is the taskbar and the absence of the quick launch, plus it's not as nice looking as Vista's taskbar.

Why do you need quick launch? You can pin all the icons you need on the start bar. And the show desktop button is on the far right. Took me a while to find it
__________________
99nasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 05:54 PM   #6
Golden Master
 
01001010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,888
Default Re: Windows 7!

Glad to see you back. You probably don't remember me, do you?
__________________
Stop the genocide now.
↳ www.savedarfur.org

Send comments, suggestions and criticisms.
↳ 01001010listens@gmail.com
01001010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 05:58 PM   #7
Fully Optimized
 
99nasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,995
Default Re: Windows 7!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 01001010 View Post
Glad to see you back. You probably don't remember me, do you?
Of course I do
__________________
99nasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 05:59 PM   #8
Golden Master
 
01001010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,888
Default Re: Windows 7!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99nasha View Post
Of course I do
__________________
Stop the genocide now.
↳ www.savedarfur.org

Send comments, suggestions and criticisms.
↳ 01001010listens@gmail.com
01001010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 06:32 PM   #9
Golden Master
 
Tommy Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 8,463
Send a message via Yahoo to Tommy Boy
Default Re: Windows 7!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99nasha View Post
Why do you need quick launch? You can pin all the icons you need on the start bar. And the show desktop button is on the far right. Took me a while to find it
It makes the taskbar look to cluttered. I like having a clean taskbar with the pop up quick launch to show everything.
__________________
When all else fails...Ham Radio!

I still have the same old HP DV9700T laptop I've had for years...still kickin'
Tommy Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 06:37 PM   #10
Fully Optimized
 
63083's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,129
Default Re: Windows 7!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommy Boy View Post
It makes the taskbar look to cluttered. I like having a clean taskbar with the pop up quick launch to show everything.
That's why I liked XP and Vista.

And about windows 7 . I'll be intalling the RC today or later tomorrow.
__________________
XPEX Vortex 3620 Mid Tower, Rosewill 450 Watt PSU, MSI P6N SLI Platinum 650i, Intel Celeron D 356, 2GB G.SKILL DDR2 800, Western Digital 40GB, (2) EVGA 7950GT 256MB Video Cards in SLI, HP DVD Multi-Burner, Windows XP.
63083 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 07:01 PM   #11
Baseband Member
 
jdrum10j's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 86
Send a message via AIM to jdrum10j
Default Re: Windows 7!

I've been told W7 only works on 64-bit, but haven't had a chance to check out the specs.

Is this true?
__________________
jdrum10j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 07:11 PM   #12
Daemon Poster
 
culexor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,132
Send a message via AIM to culexor
Default Re: Windows 7!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrum10j View Post
I've been told W7 only works on 64-bit, but haven't had a chance to check out the specs.

Is this true?
False. Even I know two people who are able to run Windows 7 on their 32-bit systems.
__________________
Desktop: Phenom II B50 3.1Ghz, 4GB DDR2 800, Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P, 2x 1TB RAID0, GTX 460 1GB, OCZ 600W, ABS Black Pearl

Laptop: i5 430M 2.26Ghz, 4GB DDR3 1066, 500GB WD Blue, Mobility Radeon HD 5650 1GB (discrete)
culexor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 07:14 PM   #13
Baseband Member
 
jdrum10j's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 86
Send a message via AIM to jdrum10j
Default Re: Windows 7!

Cool, I'll have to check it out.
__________________
jdrum10j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 07:35 PM   #14
Fully Optimized
 
63083's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,129
Default Re: Windows 7!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrum10j View Post
Cool, I'll have to check it out.
Do!!! I have the original beta running on my mom's computer and it's great. It's not even a great build. A Foxconn m-ATX motherboard, AMD 2.1 GHz dual core, 2 GB RAM, 2 year old HP hard drive, and XFX 8400GS and this OS is fast and stable on it.

Compared to vista, that's amazing.
__________________
XPEX Vortex 3620 Mid Tower, Rosewill 450 Watt PSU, MSI P6N SLI Platinum 650i, Intel Celeron D 356, 2GB G.SKILL DDR2 800, Western Digital 40GB, (2) EVGA 7950GT 256MB Video Cards in SLI, HP DVD Multi-Burner, Windows XP.
63083 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 07:35 PM   #15
Fully Optimized
 
mikee286's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: Windows 7!

i play with it from time to time. It's a little slower than vista but I guess that's to be expected when upgrading an os.
__________________
AMD Phenom II x6 1045T @ 2.7 Ghz, 8Gb Corsair Vengeance Ram, crucial M500 240GB SSD, 500GB WD
1.5 TB Seagate, XFX Radeon 6670 1Gb GDDR5, Windows 7 Professional 64bit
mikee286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 07:38 PM   #16
Fully Optimized
 
63083's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,129
Default Re: Windows 7!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikee286 View Post
i play with it from time to time. It's a little slower than vista but I guess that's to be expected when upgrading an os.
Slower than vista?? Are you reading your numbers right? Lol.

Windows 7 is way faster than vista. Look at my above post.
__________________
XPEX Vortex 3620 Mid Tower, Rosewill 450 Watt PSU, MSI P6N SLI Platinum 650i, Intel Celeron D 356, 2GB G.SKILL DDR2 800, Western Digital 40GB, (2) EVGA 7950GT 256MB Video Cards in SLI, HP DVD Multi-Burner, Windows XP.
63083 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 07:56 PM   #17
Fully Optimized
 
mikee286's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: Windows 7!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 63083 View Post
Slower than vista?? Are you reading your numbers right? Lol.

Windows 7 is way faster than vista. Look at my above post.
for me it seems slower than vista. I have a dualboot with vista on my laptop and when windows 7 loads programs there is about a 3ish second gap where the computer appears to do nothing then starts to load the program. I don't really know how else to explain it.

The windows experience score in win 7 is higher than vista though.
__________________
AMD Phenom II x6 1045T @ 2.7 Ghz, 8Gb Corsair Vengeance Ram, crucial M500 240GB SSD, 500GB WD
1.5 TB Seagate, XFX Radeon 6670 1Gb GDDR5, Windows 7 Professional 64bit
mikee286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 08:08 PM   #18
Omnipotent One
 
Atomic Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 11,161
Send a message via AIM to Atomic Rooster Send a message via Yahoo to Atomic Rooster
Default Re: Windows 7!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrum10j View Post
I've been told W7 only works on 64-bit, but haven't had a chance to check out the specs.

Is this true?
Quote:
Originally Posted by cornholio101 View Post
False. Even I know two people who are able to run Windows 7 on their 32-bit systems.
They do have a 32-bit version of Windows 7 too.

Here are the requirements:

Quote:
A PC with these system requirements:

* 1 GHz or faster 32-bit (x86) or 64-bit (x64) processor

* 1 GB RAM (32-bit) / 2 GB RAM (64-bit)

* 16 GB available disk space (32-bit) / 20 GB (64-bit)

* DirectX 9 graphics processor with WDDM 1.0 or higher driver
__________________
Atomic Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 03:09 PM   #19
Site Team
 
David Lindon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 15,233
Default Re: Windows 7!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atomic Rooster View Post
They do have a 32-bit version of Windows 7 too.

Here are the requirements:
20GB disk space required!
__________________
[url=https://www.LNXPS.NET]LNXPS.NET - The XPS Library]
David Lindon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 03:26 PM   #20
Fully Optimized
 
63083's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,129
Default Re: Windows 7!

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Lindon View Post
20GB disk space required!
I'm using 15GB with 64-bit W7 installed. I'm on an 80GB hard drive on my sister's computer.
__________________

__________________
XPEX Vortex 3620 Mid Tower, Rosewill 450 Watt PSU, MSI P6N SLI Platinum 650i, Intel Celeron D 356, 2GB G.SKILL DDR2 800, Western Digital 40GB, (2) EVGA 7950GT 256MB Video Cards in SLI, HP DVD Multi-Burner, Windows XP.
63083 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
×