Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2007, 03:24 PM   #1
In Runtime
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 182
Default Starcraft 2 VS Red Alert 3PC

I'm sooo excited!!! Starcraft 2 is finally out. But I hear that red alert 3 is pretty awesome also. So which one should I get???
__________________

__________________
Xx-Legend-xX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 03:38 PM   #2
Golden Master
 
freestyler105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,883
Default Re: Starcraft 2 VS Red Alert 3PC

Starcraft II isn't out yet. The release date is still TBA. Probably won't come out until late 2007/early 2008. And there is no Red Alert 3. Do you mean Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars?
__________________

__________________
C2D E6600 | 4GB DDR2-800 | 9800GTX+ | Asus P5B-E | 150GB Raptor | 320GB 7200.10 | 750W Xigmatek PSU
freestyler105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 04:09 PM   #3
Fully Optimized
 
spywarebanisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,135
Default Re: Starcraft 2 VS Red Alert 3PC

lol starcraft 2 isnt out yet..........
__________________
spywarebanisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 09:20 PM   #4
Golden Master
 
Cabbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7,912
Send a message via AIM to Cabbs
Default Re: Starcraft 2 VS Red Alert 3PC

But I want it to come out
__________________
=Like anime? Come to AnimeAppeal.com!=
||DFI UT P35||Q9550@3400 Mhz||Geil 4GB RAM||Radeon 5770||
Cabbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 10:30 PM   #5
Golden Master
 
alvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19,967
Send a message via AIM to alvino
Default Re: Starcraft 2 VS Red Alert 3PC

Haha, Starcraft II is far from being released yet. Still in the works.

As for Red Alert 3, it was rumored to be in the works a long, long time ago, but ever since Westwood Studios was completely acquired by EA, the focus went on to the Generals series and now C&C 3: Tiberium Wars. I'm pretty sure they completely canceled it, although I wouldn't be surprised if they decided to resurrect it like they did with Tiberium Wars.
__________________
alvino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 11:33 PM   #6
In Runtime
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 182
Default Re: Starcraft 2 VS Red Alert 3PC

lol. I saw some gameplay videos of C&C 3, and it was sh*t and nothing compared to the starcraft 2 demo videos.
__________________
Xx-Legend-xX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 11:34 PM   #7
In Runtime
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 182
Default Re: Starcraft 2 VS Red Alert 3PC

and sorry for my mistake, starcraft ISNT out yet, it will be out on oct 10 2008 i think. Sorry for the typo!
__________________
Xx-Legend-xX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 12:43 AM   #8
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,276
Default Re: Starcraft 2 VS Red Alert 3PC

I'm doubting a release that late, October 10th, 2008 seems a bit too long, though it wouldn't be out of character of Blizzard at all to do something like that. My friends that have C&C3 have said nothing but good things about it so far though. It makes it a tempting buy, but I got bigger purchases to worry about atm.
__________________
| AMD 3800+ X2 Dual Core Processor | ASUS A8N-e nF4 Ultra | Hitachi Deskstar 250gb 3.0 gb/s | 1gb Corsair Value RAM 2x512 | eVGA geforce 6800GS | sound blaster live! 24-bit | NZXT Trinity Classic chassis | OCZ GameXStream OCZ700GXSSLI PSU |
I was there. In the networking forum for the first time, and it was because.. of 341
kchi55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 01:03 AM   #9
Golden Master
 
alvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19,967
Send a message via AIM to alvino
Default Re: Starcraft 2 VS Red Alert 3PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xx-Legend-xX View Post
lol. I saw some gameplay videos of C&C 3, and it was sh*t and nothing compared to the starcraft 2 demo videos.
C&C 3 is probably one of the best C&C games in a long, long time. Play the demo before you talk smack about a game you haven't even tried. Videos don't do shit.
__________________
alvino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 12:33 PM   #10
Fully Optimized
 
NeXuS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,960
Default Re: Starcraft 2 VS Red Alert 3PC

I dont like C&C3 dunno the camera is just blah, you cant zoom out at all, units are so unbalanced, gameplay not good, graphics they look like a generals remake. Right now for RTS Company of Heroes damn that game is awesome and Supreme Commander.
__________________
//Antec 902 V3 Case, Intel i7-2600K (@4.5GHz 1.280V watercooled w/ Antec H2O Kuhler 920), 8GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz, ASUS P8P67 PRO B3, MSI 3GB N580 GTX Lightning Xtreme (@850MHz/2100MHz), 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3, Corsair HX850W Pro Series//
//XPS 410 C2D E6400 @ 2.13GHz, 2GB DDR2 667MHz, 250GB HD, eVGA 320mb 8800GTS(605/1900MHz)//
//AMD Athlon XP +2000, Socket A MSI-6390, 768 mb of PC 2100 RAM, AGP ATI RADEON 9600SE//

I <3 TrancE
NeXuS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 02:40 PM   #11
In Runtime
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 182
Default Re: Starcraft 2 VS Red Alert 3PC

starcraft 2 comes out on either october 1-10 2008, cause thats the time of the anniversary of the first starcraft. lol. Did a little research on the net.
__________________
Xx-Legend-xX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 05:10 PM   #12
Golden Master
 
alvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19,967
Send a message via AIM to alvino
Default Re: Starcraft 2 VS Red Alert 3PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by NeXuS View Post
I dont like C&C3 dunno the camera is just blah, you cant zoom out at all, units are so unbalanced, gameplay not good, graphics they look like a generals remake. Right now for RTS Company of Heroes damn that game is awesome and Supreme Commander.
It's an enhanced version of the Generals engine. Whatever, I'm happy with C&C 3. It's A LOT better than Generals.

As for Company of Heroes, I agree. That game is one of the best RTS' I've ever played. Not so sure about Supreme Commander...
__________________
alvino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 08:43 PM   #13
Fully Optimized
 
NeXuS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,960
Default Re: Starcraft 2 VS Red Alert 3PC

CoH FTW! It uses Havok engine just as HL-2, beautifull graphics I can play DX9 shader all max with 2AA looks nice.
__________________
//Antec 902 V3 Case, Intel i7-2600K (@4.5GHz 1.280V watercooled w/ Antec H2O Kuhler 920), 8GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz, ASUS P8P67 PRO B3, MSI 3GB N580 GTX Lightning Xtreme (@850MHz/2100MHz), 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3, Corsair HX850W Pro Series//
//XPS 410 C2D E6400 @ 2.13GHz, 2GB DDR2 667MHz, 250GB HD, eVGA 320mb 8800GTS(605/1900MHz)//
//AMD Athlon XP +2000, Socket A MSI-6390, 768 mb of PC 2100 RAM, AGP ATI RADEON 9600SE//

I <3 TrancE
NeXuS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 09:36 PM   #14
Golden Master
 
alvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19,967
Send a message via AIM to alvino
Default Re: Starcraft 2 VS Red Alert 3PC

The Havok Engine is for physics. Relic used the Essence Engine for Company of Heroes' graphics.

Just so you know, the recent patch (v1.7) enables DirectX 10. Better shaders and such.
__________________
alvino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 07:30 AM   #15
Daemon Poster
 
sek3o1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,150
Default Re: Starcraft 2 VS Red Alert 3PC

im with alvino......c&C 3 is like the bset command abnd conquer game...and i think the game is balanced..the nod is a rusher type tatics the gdi have a great mid to late game advantage and the scrin has air superiority. its all about tactics...and as far as zooming in and out is concerened they tried to keep it like the org you could never zoom out all the way..i only have 2 7900 gtx's and the game looks very good. i say one of the better polished games ea has come out with in a while. and i can't wait for starcraft 2 to comeout if im still here and people on here has it they have to send a invite code to do battle my life for erdune??or is it iron or something like that
__________________
dell xps 700 pent d 3.8 ghz duel 7900 gtx
4gigs 800 ram
sony vaio core 2 duo t7600 radon mobility x1600
2 gigs of ram
sek3o1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 02:56 PM   #16
Golden Master
 
alvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19,967
Send a message via AIM to alvino
Default Re: Starcraft 2 VS Red Alert 3PC

I found that C&C 3 is more spammy than other RTS games. There is no population cap and when you create soldiers, it's in groups of 5 or 6 but you can click on it just as fast as the old games (the old games spawned one at a time). It's not like Company of Heroes where the time it takes to spawn is a lot more spaced out, not to mention the population cap so you can't mass rush (it's focused on tactics rather than sheer numbers).
__________________
alvino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 03:03 PM   #17
In Runtime
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 182
Default Re: Starcraft 2 VS Red Alert 3PC

I just wish I could control huge armies at the same time, not like the old starcraft, where you can only control 12 units. Hard to control them and get them organized in battle.
__________________
Xx-Legend-xX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 03:05 PM   #18
Golden Master
 
alvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19,967
Send a message via AIM to alvino
Default Re: Starcraft 2 VS Red Alert 3PC

The point of a pop cap is so you have to use your mind and be tactical and wise with the units you create, not just spawn a hundred of the same units and just rush your enemy.
__________________
alvino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 03:20 PM   #19
In Runtime
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 182
Default Re: Starcraft 2 VS Red Alert 3PC

well, thats true, but rushing my enemy would be pretty cool, but then, the game wouldnt be as challenging.
__________________
Xx-Legend-xX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 03:34 PM   #20
Fully Optimized
 
spywarebanisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,135
Default Re: Starcraft 2 VS Red Alert 3PC

isnt the new starcraft only limited to 16 units instead of 12?
__________________

__________________
spywarebanisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
×