Question of legality

after installing from the .iso, are you using one of your 3 valid keys? If so, than valid (from what I understand), if you are using another one... you break the EULA!

I'm going to use the .iso to install 3 copies each using one of the valid keys I have. (I'm reformatting all the computers in my house)

i'm not a lawyer, nor have I comb through Microsoft's EULA, but i'm pretty sure, as long as that key works, you will be fine.

heh heh, comb

tumblr_lbuqm1XVZ61qd42rao1_400.gif

I'm no lawyer but I'd probably say technically speaking that's illegal, even if it's just the fact you're not aquiring it through an offical source. Morally and practically speaking you're absolutely fine; I don't think you've got anything to worry about.

To be honest, on the spur of the moment that happens alot to me. We have alot of legitimate volume licenses and not many discs anymore (they seem to go missing alot, borrowed and never returned, buried in the pile of damaged or non working discs, etc.) so i find a bare .iso file of the OS, download it and legitimately activate it. It's not 100% morally sound, but we paid for the keys and lost the discs, why should i buy a new disc?

To be fair, Piracy continues to be on the rise anyway, because Microsoft and other Software companies are pretty crap at closing the holes they left in Windows activation etc. E.g. there are programs that can remove WAT, WGATray, etc, and install OEMs, reactivate BETA versions and such, and these are just left out there for any average joe to pick up and use. I doubt they'll ever catch you even if you did use an illegitimate key.