Introduction and Questions

MDS1005

Baseband Member
Hey all. Just registered on the forum, so I figured I'd introduce myself and ask a few questions. First off, I'm Marc. I hope soon to be beginning my education in computers, and I needed a forum to kind of act as home base for all the questions I'm sure will arise. I'm 23 years old, and after a few failed attempts at making a living in other fields, I'm going back to my original plan of a career in computers. Its been so long though, I kinda feel lost. Few questions....

-What specific areas of computer science are the highest paying right now? Computer Programmers? Web Design? Network Administrators etc? (Can't lie, I'm greedy, looking to make over 100K after a few years of experience)

-What are employers looking for in prospective candidates now as far as education? Just certifications? Technical School Training? A BS or MS? I hear the days of the self taught programmer are over.

-Assuming I decide to go the formal education route, can anyone recommend any good schools? I plan on relocating in the next 6 months to an undecided location, so, schools in any part of the country would be welcome recommendations.

-Can anyone recommend some good websites or books to help get me started in the right direction before I get myself into school? Anything from very basic computing to advanced, and reading material in other areas such as any mathematics that might be useful to a computer professional.

Thanks in advance everyone. I'll be around the forums, and look forward to receiving help from everyone, and hopefully contributing a bit myself.

Hi marc, welcome to the forums. I'm sure any question you have can be answered here.

-What specific areas of computer science are the highest paying right now? Computer Programmers? Web Design? Network Administrators etc? (Can't lie, I'm greedy, looking to make over 100K after a few years of experience)