Hobby as work is great....right?

jmacavali

Fully Optimized
I work as a Tech Coordinator for a school. I spend all day dealing with technology. Here's my setup at home:

An old Wal-Mart bought Acer Desktop (probably 2006-ish), Single Core x64 AMD process, 3 GB ram, running Win7. Connected to a flat screen TV via HDMI cable from a 256 Gb Video Card.

No cable or DVR - only an antenna. I cancelled cable because it costs too much and there is too much junk on.

So all day I focus on technology and then go home and am totally anti-technology. I just spend all day working on computers that when I get home it's the last thing I want to do.

People always say if you can get paid to do your hobby then that's great. But if your hobby because your work, then it's not really a hobby any more and you will have to find a new hobby to fullfill your needs.

When I was working I found this as well - really liked to just do outdoors-y bits and suchlike, didn't like to spend loads of time coding. Now I'm back doing a PhD, interestingly I don't find it so much; I'm quite happy to go home and code working on something a bit different. I guess it's two fold - firstly the divide between working and not is a bit more skewed, and secondly I often need to be to get things done!

Still like a nice outdoors break every so often though :)

Still like a nice outdoors break every so often though :)

Thus the reason I own a camper and have a permanent camping spot that we go to every weekend (rain or shine) where I leave the cell in the camper and there is no wifi :)

That's why I don't work in IT as my full-time job. I like stopping in really whenever I want at the shop to pick up some hours or help out when they are busy. I didn't want to ruin my passion for fixing computers.

Whhhaaattt???