Does anyone study selfe defence?

Draygoes

Fully Optimized
The question is in the title. I studied sense I was a kid, and I love having a good chat about different styles.

I am going to ask that nobody lie, and that people that have not studied not repeat most of what will be said here. Doing so without practice can get you hurt in a bad way. Also, I would prefer this to be a discussion about how one got in, why, and above all use in real life if ever.

I will start. I am a practitioner in Jujitsu, and so is Cynthia. It became very important, as it taught me experience in dealing with anger. These days, I never get into fights. I earned my ability to call myself a blackbelt, but that was over years of getting hit, training to be able to move my feet, and more hitting. I learned to be fast, take a hit, and the most important of it, you never get into a fight unless forced to.

I will leave it at that with one more statement...
Please do not try to say that one Art is better than another.

When you said selfe defense " I thought you mean't selfie like a cell phone... And was really confused lol.

I've been in martial arts for 13 years now and on paper have the rank 1st degree black belt, ( 1st dan ) however I would be considered a 3rd degree black belt. I never took the 2nd or 3rd degree test because they cost over $300 and the title to me is not worth that much money. I started in Karate for 4 years when I was little, and switched to Tae Kwon Do and have been in that ever since.

Sounds like fun!
It takes a lot of practice, but getting to 1st Blackbelt makes you feel like a god at first. I never got above that, but only because I did not need to.

Congrats on your love for the arts. :)

I have a 1st Dan in Tae Kwon Do as well. Ended up having to use my training more than once. I've told myself I never want to get that close to someone again in terms of a self-defense situation though - way too dangerous and way too much risk. Part of the reason why I carry.