Degree vs Certifications

chee

Beta member
I want to state my personal opinion and experience with regards to what education is most important. I have a Masters degree in Information Systems, I've had it for years, and could never really get my foot in the door because of a lack of solid experience. I took a microsoft boot camp at CED Solutions (technical training that prepares someone for certifications, highly recommend). I dedicated 2 weeks of hard studying and came out with my MCSA and Security+ certs. With two weeks I finally had employers calling me for interviews, which I could never get before, and I finally got a good networking job. I think the certifications added an extra amount provable knowledge to my resume. I believe certifications carry as much weight as degrees.

In my opinion Certifications actually prove you are experienced in a field. I find most degrees a waste of time

One of the biggest misconceptions people have about degrees (or certifications for that matter) is that people will think you are smart if you have one. A lot of people think that education equals intelligence. It doesn't. An education is something that you (or your parents) pay for, whereas intelligence is something you are born with (or born without, depending on who you are). Experience always looks better on a resume than education...

I used to struggle with this concept a lot - is it really worth it to be shelling out 1/4 the cost of some homes for an education (and just for a bachelors!) to get more money per check?

I've really struggled with trying to keep my school, or instead choosing to go after certificates only. The thing I finally settled on was if I can get a degree, couple it with experience and then throw in certifications to keep myself fresh, then I've got a three-punch special that most others don't have. I'll figure out how to pay the loans off, I always do for everything else, so it's just going to be patience.