Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2007, 04:04 PM   #1
BSOD
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,556
Send a message via MSN to Rudster816
Default Corsair First to DDR3

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...Pin+DDR3+SDRAM
there is the first peak at ddr3 high timings but insane speeds wonder what the norm will be.

1k posts me so happy
__________________

__________________
Rudster816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 04:06 PM   #2
Golden Master
 
Thelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,410
Send a message via AIM to Thelis Send a message via MSN to Thelis Send a message via Yahoo to Thelis
Default Re: Corsair First to DDR3

Ahem.. look at that price...

I mean they will become normal in 2 or 3 years, and the prices will drop then. I do not think you should get them until price drops, 500 dollars is too much for RAM.
__________________

__________________
Thelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 04:19 PM   #3
Baseband Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 62
Default Re: Corsair First to DDR3

$493
__________________
bigggnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 04:46 PM   #4
BSOD
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,556
Send a message via MSN to Rudster816
Default Re: Corsair First to DDR3

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigggnick View Post
$493
had to make it bigger

DDR3 boards arent even out yet they will drop very quickly just as DDR2 is STILL dropping in huge ammount(bigger than the text).
__________________
Rudster816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 04:48 PM   #5
Golden Master
 
Thelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,410
Send a message via AIM to Thelis Send a message via MSN to Thelis Send a message via Yahoo to Thelis
Default Re: Corsair First to DDR3

Yeah, which is why people should wait and not buy expensive mobos just yet. Better things are coming up, so buying SLis for $200 is pointless right now.
__________________
Thelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 05:15 PM   #6
Site Team
 
David Lindon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 15,233
Default Re: Corsair First to DDR3

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigggnick View Post
$493
Yeah thats insane

Congrats on the 1K rudster!
__________________
[url=https://www.LNXPS.NET]LNXPS.NET - The XPS Library]
David Lindon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 06:35 PM   #7
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,276
Default Re: Corsair First to DDR3

I'm still on DDR ram for now so I think i'll pass =P.
__________________
| AMD 3800+ X2 Dual Core Processor | ASUS A8N-e nF4 Ultra | Hitachi Deskstar 250gb 3.0 gb/s | 1gb Corsair Value RAM 2x512 | eVGA geforce 6800GS | sound blaster live! 24-bit | NZXT Trinity Classic chassis | OCZ GameXStream OCZ700GXSSLI PSU |
I was there. In the networking forum for the first time, and it was because.. of 341
kchi55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 06:43 PM   #8
Fully Optimized
 
hascet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,218
Default Re: Corsair First to DDR3

DDR3 boards are out, the P35 chipset supports it
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131181
__________________
www.crazycomputers.org
hascet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 06:52 PM   #9
BSOD
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,556
Send a message via MSN to Rudster816
Default Re: Corsair First to DDR3

Quote:
Originally Posted by hascet View Post
DDR3 boards are out, the P35 chipset supports it
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131181
so there is a current board that does support ddr3 but no amd boards yet
__________________
Rudster816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 06:54 PM   #10
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,534
Default Re: Corsair First to DDR3

Gratz on 1k, rudster.
__________________
LA061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 07:56 PM   #11
Golden Master
 
DJ-CHRIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,203
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via MSN to DJ-CHRIS Send a message via Yahoo to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: Corsair First to DDR3

Quote:
Originally Posted by rudster816 View Post
so there is a current board that does support ddr3 but no amd boards yet
For AMD it's the processor that determines what kind of ram the computer uses. The motherboard does not dictate what kinda of ram is to be used.
__________________
DJ-CHRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 08:10 PM   #12
BSOD
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,556
Send a message via MSN to Rudster816
Default Re: Corsair First to DDR3

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ-CHRIS View Post
For AMD it's the processor that determines what kind of ram the computer uses. The motherboard does not dictate what kinda of ram is to be used.
i belive the fx cpu's have ddr3 support but the motherboard also has to support it. they could go back to the old external ram controllers though
__________________
Rudster816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 08:12 PM   #13
Golden Master
 
alvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19,967
Send a message via AIM to alvino
Default Re: Corsair First to DDR3

Wait for DDR3 technology to become better. DDR2 used to have high latency and timings, but now it's gotten wayyy lower along with a speed increase.
__________________
alvino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2007, 12:34 AM   #14
Golden Master
 
mammikoura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,459
Send a message via MSN to mammikoura
Default Re: Corsair First to DDR3

and that isn't even that fast. There is ddr2 which has almost as high clock speed, with cas latency of something around 5.

Also, WTF. Just look at this offer. If anyone needs some ddr2 ram, now is the time to get it.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820144034
__________________
0_o
mammikoura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2007, 02:18 AM   #15
BSOD
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,556
Send a message via MSN to Rudster816
Default Re: Corsair First to DDR3

that is a hella good deal too bad you wont get the money for ages
__________________
Rudster816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2007, 08:11 AM   #16
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,091
Default Re: Corsair First to DDR3

The board I selected will have DDR-III so I will be able to get it

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128048
Price is good too!!!
__________________
lhuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2007, 02:17 PM   #17
Golden Master
 
alvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 19,967
Send a message via AIM to alvino
Default Re: Corsair First to DDR3

Yeah, the new P35 chipset supports DDR3. Eh, too expensive if you ask me.
__________________
alvino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2007, 09:58 PM   #18
Fully Optimized
 
CompMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,323
Send a message via AIM to CompMan
Default Re: Corsair First to DDR3

OMG! Come on already, technology moves to fast.

*Goes and runs into a brick wall*


Well that hurt, I need to go build a new rig now!
__________________
|Intel Q6600@3.0ghz||ASUS MAXIMUS FORMULA||2GiG Corsair XM2 DDR2 800||EvGa 8800GTS||36gig Western Digital Raptor 10,000 rpm||Ultra X2 connect 550W modular psu||Thermaltake Tsunami Case|Vista 64bit|
Windows has Blue screens, Mac has grey screens, and CF has White screens!!
2004 Mazda RX-8 GT Titanium Grey, Greddy Exhaust, AEM cold air intake
--objects in rearview get smaller with each shift--
CompMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2007, 10:21 PM   #19
BSOD
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,556
Send a message via MSN to Rudster816
Default Re: Corsair First to DDR3

Quote:
Originally Posted by lhuser View Post
The board I selected will have DDR-III so I will be able to get it

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128048
Price is good too!!!
tell me the benches of the ddr3 when you get it. we will do our own review i guess
__________________

__________________
Rudster816 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
×