Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2008, 05:17 AM   #1
Bogan
 
Neodude112320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,474
Send a message via MSN to Neodude112320
Default Core i7 Locked?!?!?

http://www.maximumpc.com/article/fea...ls_nextgen_cpu

Looks like if you want to overclock,you'll have to shell out ALOT of Dough
__________________

__________________
Neodude112320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 06:07 AM   #2
Golden Master
 
MikeReiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,053
Send a message via AIM to MikeReiner Send a message via MSN to MikeReiner Send a message via Yahoo to MikeReiner
Default Re: Core i7 Locked?!?!?

That is unfortunate.
__________________

__________________
MikeReiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 09:03 AM   #3
Fully Optimized
 
LukaszR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,833
Send a message via MSN to LukaszR
Default Re: Core i7 Locked?!?!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeReiner View Post
That is unfortunate.
o yes...very very unfortunate.
Looks like the OC'ers aren't going to be too too pleased.
__________________
Desktop - DualBoot: Fedora 15/Windows 7 64bit
Netbook - Windows 7 Professional

www.Cyber-Talk.ca League of Legends and Gaming Community
LukaszR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 05:54 PM   #4
Fully Optimized
 
_-..zKiLLA..-_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,952
Send a message via AIM to _-..zKiLLA..-_
Default Re: Core i7 Locked?!?!?

http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/200...-core-i7-920/1
__________________
My beast lappy: Acer netbook, 1.6ghz atom dual core, 2gb ddr3
My PSN: Kalikid_420
_-..zKiLLA..-_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 06:51 PM   #5
xxcobraxx
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: England
Posts: 6,224
Default Re: Core i7 Locked?!?!?

http://www.computerforums.org/showthread.php?t=78484
__________________
Liveleaker
IAntDemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 08:00 PM   #6
Daemon Poster
 
Fanatic4Christ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,351
Default Re: Core i7 Locked?!?!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antdemo View Post
y did that one get locked???? weird.....
__________________
Jesus died for me and you.
AMD Athlon II 250 3.6ghz | ASRock N68C-S | Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 3850 PCI-E 512MB | SteelSeries Siberia USB Soundcard | Western Digital 250GB | LOGISYS 575watt PSU | Crucial 2GB ram DDR3
Fanatic4Christ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 08:08 PM   #7
Fully Optimized
 
_-..zKiLLA..-_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,952
Send a message via AIM to _-..zKiLLA..-_
Default Re: Core i7 Locked?!?!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Getignited114 View Post
y did that one get locked???? weird.....
yeah tell me about it. and he didnt reply to my PM
__________________
My beast lappy: Acer netbook, 1.6ghz atom dual core, 2gb ddr3
My PSN: Kalikid_420
_-..zKiLLA..-_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 11:13 PM   #8
Fully Optimized
 
mikee286's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: Core i7 Locked?!?!?

will there be a way to hack it and overclock it?
__________________
AMD Phenom II x6 1045T @ 2.7 Ghz, 8Gb Corsair Vengeance Ram, crucial M500 240GB SSD, 500GB WD
1.5 TB Seagate, XFX Radeon 6670 1Gb GDDR5, Windows 7 Professional 64bit
mikee286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 11:32 PM   #9
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: US
Posts: 3,285
Send a message via Yahoo to bullzi Send a message via Skype™ to bullzi
Default Re: Core i7 Locked?!?!?

I highly doubt the i7's will even need to be overclocked...
__________________
-Main Desktop- i7 980 Extreme, 16GB, RX 580
-Surface Pro 3- i5, 8GB
bullzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 12:12 AM   #10
Daemon Poster
 
Fanatic4Christ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,351
Default Re: Core i7 Locked?!?!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by _-..zKiLLA..-_ View Post
yeah tell me about it. and he didnt reply to my PM
yeah and looking at the times, yours was posted before this one... funny funny... i dont think this processor is going to be very good, its gonna get all this hype and then as soon as someone makes it oc'd really high another new ones gonna come out and then it'll be the "new processor on the block" lol
__________________
Jesus died for me and you.
AMD Athlon II 250 3.6ghz | ASRock N68C-S | Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 3850 PCI-E 512MB | SteelSeries Siberia USB Soundcard | Western Digital 250GB | LOGISYS 575watt PSU | Crucial 2GB ram DDR3
Fanatic4Christ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 12:14 AM   #11
Fully Optimized
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: US
Posts: 3,285
Send a message via Yahoo to bullzi Send a message via Skype™ to bullzi
Default Re: Core i7 Locked?!?!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Getignited114 View Post
yeah and looking at the times, yours was posted before this one... funny funny... i dont think this processor is going to be very good, its gonna get all this hype and then as soon as someone makes it oc'd really high another new ones gonna come out and then it'll be the "new processor on the block" lol
no, i7's are totally ground breaking. remember the release of the P4 w/ hyperthreading how big of a deal that was?? this is the same. these are quad cores with hyperthreading. the cheapest of these processors is a lot faster than a $1,000 quad core extreme at $700 less, this is a big deal.
__________________
-Main Desktop- i7 980 Extreme, 16GB, RX 580
-Surface Pro 3- i5, 8GB
bullzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 12:12 PM   #12
Fully Optimized
 
mikee286's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: Core i7 Locked?!?!?

Are these going to be socket 775 or will we have to go out and buy new expensive motherboards to use them?
__________________
AMD Phenom II x6 1045T @ 2.7 Ghz, 8Gb Corsair Vengeance Ram, crucial M500 240GB SSD, 500GB WD
1.5 TB Seagate, XFX Radeon 6670 1Gb GDDR5, Windows 7 Professional 64bit
mikee286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 12:26 PM   #13
Golden Master
 
mark thorpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 7,366
Send a message via MSN to mark thorpe Send a message via Yahoo to mark thorpe
Default Re: Core i7 Locked?!?!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by _-..zKiLLA..-_ View Post
yeah tell me about it. and he didnt reply to my PM
i didnt reply to your PM because i was down the pub then sleeping (most people had gone home so i was on my phone finishing my pint)

we dont need two threads on the same thing.. if i was gonna get picky id move this to general, but im leaving it here.. plus i could find issues with the name you picked for that thread..
__________________
'I may be drunk, Miss, but in the morning I will be sober and you will still be ugly.'

Winston Churchill, 11/30/1874 - 01/24/1965
mark thorpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 12:53 PM   #14
Golden Master
 
worshipme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,603
Default Re: Core i7 Locked?!?!?

Quote:
the cheapest of these processors is a lot faster than a $1,000 quad core extreme at $700 less, this is a big deal.
Actually from what I've seen the 920 is quite a bit slower than the Q9770.
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE @ 4.0GHz + TU120E lapped - MSI 770-CD45 AM3 - 2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1333MHz - Sapphire HD 4870 - Samsung Spinpoint 500GB 7200RPM 16MB cache HDD - Tagan TG600-BZ Piperock - (Currently open test bed) - Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit.
worshipme is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
×