plz. help me with actionscript 3.0

MartinC.

Baseband Member
Hi, I'm trying to try to find a good site that has information about how to program with actionscript. I have searched for some, but I can only find ones
that are for people who already know how to program with it. I have no experience with it. Also, do I need a compiler or need to download anything for this? (by the way i want to know about ACTIONSCRIPT 3.0).
----
here is where i am
-I have flash CS4
-I have no experience with any programing language (I know how to program batch files, but that doesn't really count)
-I know how to make decent animations using flash CS4
----

the swf file that is created by adobe flash is a "compiled" movie. There is no seperate compiler for actionscript.

You must run actionscript within the context of a flash movie.
You can use adobe flash to write it, or any other text editing tool.

Two types of actionscript can be written:
1.) Embedded- This type is within the timeline or within sprites/movieclips/buttons in your fla file.
2.) External- these are seperate .as files that contain "classes" or other "objects" that can be imported into your timeline and used.

The best way to learn is not by trying to learn about "actionscript" itself, but instead to solve a problem.

For example: I want my movie clip to move accross the screen when I click a button.

So, in this case the best place to start would be doing a search for "Actionscript 3 movieclip animations".

Learn by trial an error.

If you'd like to learn how to "program" I would suggest NOT doing so in actionscript.

Here is an example of what I mean:

Code:
function fadeClip():void {
  myMovieClip.alpha-=.05;
} // end function fadeClip

setInterval(fadeClip,500);
Basically what this code does, is if you have a movieclip that you have added to the stage called "myMovieClip" (Make sure you have given it an instance name of myMovieClip once you add it to the stage), it will create a fade animation.