Binary Idea.

wurft

Beta member
Hello people from ComputerForums.org

I just had an idea and I need help,
first of all I need to say I am a noob with programming, so go easy on me.:p

I have a Teac-Tascam 22-4 reel to reel tape recorder, and I thought it would be verry interesting if i could convert text (or maby even small images) into binary, then into sound, and record it onto my tape recorder, then playing the sound back onto my pc and make it convert it back into binary/text/imges.

I don't even know if this would be possible, but anyway,
if it is I really need help making it work:eek:

Greetz from Holland.

It could theoretically work, but no-one's done it because the amount of error correction required would render the capacity of the tape many times less than what it can actually handle! You could do it via short bursts of different pitch, but you'd need to account for the sensitivity of the microphone picking it up, the errors on the tape and all sorts...

So yes, possible - but it'd be very slow and inefficient, and for all practical purposes pretty pointless!

I agree with berry120. It could definitely be possible theoretically. It is just that you will have to deal with the fact that there will likely be errors in data transfer. Perhaps a better way to do it would be to use laser light pulses rather than sound? This may be to far from your original idea though.

The sound you recorded must be exactly the same with the sound you generated, otherwise, the text (and most probably the binary) would be different as well. You would have to consider so many technicalities in this idea, but I think somewhere in the future this could be possible. You would just have to polish the idea a bit more, go for the technical side of it, and maybe you can actually find out.