Whats the Difference between a wireless Access Point and Wireless Router?

Nateo200

Baseband Member
I could have sworn I saw this thread like a week ago but ill ask again. What is the difference, I mean I know the basics but why is it that for example the linksys WAP54G is more expensive than the WRT54G? I thought it had to do with advanced features but a price gap like that seams a bit unwarranted.....I mean the WRT54G can rout ethernet applications as well while the WAP54G can't...I keep trying to grasp this concept but it never sticks in my head how an AP alone can be so expensive over a router, more output power or something? Discuss....

I'm going to try and make an educated guess here cause I'm still learning with ya.

I believe the Wireless router does what it says... routes and forwards information while the Access Point is simply that. Nothing but an access point where you can connect to a WLAN. Why its more expensive? Idk.

Not sure why it's more expensive. But it could have something to do with the actual hardware inside the devices. The AP has to be able to detect, connect, and re-broadcast a wireless network, while a router only broadcasts it out.

So in theory, the AP has more specialized hardware in it, and therefore costs more to build, so that costs is shown in the higher price.

--Just my educated guess.

What's ironic is that if you know what you're doing and are willing to tweak (or even flash with different firmware like dd-wrt) you can turn your wireless router into an access point.

What's ironic is that if you know what you're doing and are willing to tweak (or even flash with different firmware like dd-wrt) you can turn your wireless router into an access point.