Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Networking | DNS
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today

Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-23-2008, 09:46 AM   #1
Beta Member
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Default "Shanghai ChuK Network Information Technology Co., Ltd"domain name registration scam

II got the following scam email for one of the domains I manage. This was sent
to: [EMAIL PROTECTED] which you can only
get by crawling the web site as it does not appear anywhere else.

I think there is a US law against someone trying to register your domain name
when it is an obvious scam. Anyone else getting
emails like this? I have the original header and all the information about the
email. Is there a place to file a complaint?

From: michael [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Sent: Friday, May 09, 2008 6:43 PM
To: sales
Subject: stratfordsoftware for domain name

Dear stratfordsoftware:

We are Shanghai ChuK Network Information Technology Co., Ltd, which is the
domain name register center in China. I have something
need to confirm with you.

We have received an application formally, one company named "Rongda (China)
Investment Co.,Ltd" applies for the domain
names(www.stratfordsoftware.cn,www.stratfordsoftwa re.com.cn,etc.) ,and the
Internet keyword(stratfordsoftware)on the internet May
09, 2008. We need to know the opinion of your company because the domain names
and keyword may relate to the copyright of brand
name on internet.

we would like to get the affirmation of your company, please contact us by
telephone or email as soon as possible.
Kind Regards,

Michael Chen
Tel: +86-21-62416070
Fax: +86-21-62597835
Shanghai ChuK Network Information Technology Co., Ltd
website: www.chuk.com.cn

Post Messages to: ProFox@leafe.com
Subscription Maintenance: http://leafe.com/mailman/listinfo/profox
OT-free version of this list: http://leafe.com/mailman/listinfo/profoxtech
Searchable Archive: http://leafe.com/archives/search/profox
This message: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
** All postings, unless explicitly stated otherwise, are the opinions of the
author, and do not constitute legal or medical advice. This statement is added
to the messages for those lawyers who are too stupid to see the obvious.

See also
bstenfus is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0