Secure packets over an unsecure wireless network

ROSEBLOOD

Baseband Member
Hey everyone,

I'm looking to encrypt my packets going across a wireless network (such as a free network at Starbucks). I guess you could say I'm paranoid. I was looking into IP Tunneling, but I couldnt find much. Could anyone point me in the right direction.

~ROSEBLOOD

Most of the wireless routers come with encrypted wi-fi connections such as the WEP (Wireless Encryption Protocol)
If you want, you can also use MAC filtering

dyserq ... I think what Roseblood is alluding to is wanting to secure the data when he's connected to unsecure wireless networks at WIFI hotspots. The reason for them being called hotspots is because those wireless access points are wide open and do not use any kind of security such as WEP or mac filtering. Meaning anyone can connect to the wireless access point without a WEP key or network password.

I'm no expert in data security, but I think that using software used for Internet Security provide firewall protection and monitors/secures traffic coming and going to your laptop would be a good start to protecting your data.

Ok Cross ...
Hotspots are easy to get into and hijack peoples connections :D All you need is a laptop and a wireless router and google ! ;)
But he still wants to secure packets before sending them and i recommended some things in my last post in this thread

I guess Im a little confused then. Aren't WEP keys used between a laptop and an access point that has WEP enabled? Hotspots usually dont have WEP enabled, so entering a WEP key doesnt do any good there ... no? MAC filtering ... again doesnt the wireless access point need to have MAC filtering enabled and know of the MAC address of the laptop that is trying to connect? Meaning ... the MAC address of the laptop needs to be manually entered in the A.P./Router. The thread originator is asking to secure his data while connected to a FREE service ... i.e. while at Starbucks.