Newb question about Internet speeds...

Churla27

Baseband Member
I started taking an IT class at school so I'm still new to the subject. How fast will ISP's allow you to go on the internet? As in mb's. My teacher says the limit is 104 MB, so then the question is how can an N router go 300 mbs if the internet is only 104? Maybe I'm confused on this subject. Any help would be great thanks!!

The most networks are connected 100Mbit/s = approx 12MB/s
But your internet connection depends on your ISP connection plan

As a quick correction, most internet is measured in bits, not bytes so I'm assuming you mean 104 Mb not 104 MB.

Routers of all kinds are able to do more than internet speeds because of the computer-to-computer communications of a network. If workplaces, or some homes, had network speeds limited to the standard 6-15 Mb (at least here in the US those are the standard speeds) people wouldn't have anywhere near desirable network performance to shared resources. Like me, I run backups to a server over gigabit. On a standard 100Mb connection they take about 2 hours, on gigabit it takes 30 minute. If I had to limit myself to the 15Mb I pay for, things would be quicker to just clone my drives every night.

Connections are always measured in bits. So your router can transfer at speeds up to 300 Mbit/sec. This has NOTHING to do with the speed of the Internet. It is simply the speed that the router can transfer information on your local network. Also, the router has little to do with the speed with which you can access information on the Internet either.