will this work??

ya u can sli or crossfire
just need the drivers
id get 4g ram before id sli tho

Depending on what graphics cards you are using, anything less might bottleneck them... 2 gb would be fine, for say, the 1900 XT, but if you wanted to SLI nVidia 8800s you would need a lot of RAM, and a good processor (which you have)

Get 2 more gig of ram, and then you should be fine. Also, i would suggest finding a non open box version of that mobo..

i already have the mobo, i bought it new.

so with 2 extra gb os ram, 2 8800gt's, a new small hdd and vista for the new vista exclusive games(i will dual boot with my current xp pro so i can still play all my old games without having to worry about driver issues for older games). that adds up to about $800.

oh yeah this is mainly a gaming rig, but i also love to mess with OSs and i have no experience with vista yet so there is another bonus.

anything to add my computer savvy friends?

Not much to add, except for a good luck!

I hope this rig works out for you.

Also, if you want to use separate hard drive for your OS's, I would suggest about a 30 gig or higher for Vista. It only requires about 15 gig, but the extra space will help it run better, and will also give you extra storage should you ever need it. :)

DONT sli 8800gt's! get a SINGLE 8800GTX, 2 cards for the same price, will beat 1 card hands DOWN!

if i read that correctly then i should go with sli. anyway, i'm done my research, 8800gt's are not as good as the gtx but they are the next step down, and 2 would deffinatly beat a gtx. also, they are not the same price, the two gt's will run my almost $700 while a gtx is only about $600.

google "sli 8800gt's vs. 8800gtx"

many forums posts and benchmarks, also using the new unofficial stress test "Crysis".

if that weren't enough, i've never done a SLi setup, it will be a learning experience.