Using Bitcomet Kills Internet Connection

Lee1976

Solid State Member
I have a Linksys WRGT-G wireless router. My desktop is running Vista and is connected directly to the router. My internet connection is never an issue unless using BitComet to download stuff from torrrent sites such as Mininova and about 5-10 minutes into downloading, I lose Internet connection.

I'm fairly new to using torrents and I've been using Limewire for a couple years now. My internet speed is pretty fast....on Speedtest.net I clocked 27Mbps for a download speed and 10 Mbps for upload. I've read on other sites that this is a common problem with downloading torrents but I didn't see any solutions.

Usually as soon as I exit BitComet, my Internet is up and running again. I don't have to restart my PC or unplug the modem, which most users seem to be doing. Does anyone know why exactly this happens?

This usually relates to having a crappy router that can't handle the stress. This is usually due to residential routers not having enough memory to track all of the connections. Your router model you claimed to have doesn't exist, if you could look at the modem number again that would be great. Just assuming it's a residential linksys product can help explain these issues. Also, does the internet act slow and die out on just your computer, or does it affect all computers in the house? Windows operating systems have some "features" that mess up some torrent clients and cause a single computer to not be able to establish any new connections.

Also, could you redo your speed test? Those results seem a bit odd for a residential line and you may have mixed up a decimal place. If those are your real speeds, and you want to take full advantage of tormenting quickly you need a fairly high end router. There are some workarounds that you can use to lessen the strain on your router, but they do affect torrent speed.