Upgrading processors myself?

dominover

Solid State Member
I'm looking at the possibility of upgrading a processor in an existing computer but I have no experience in doing this. I suppose that's how you learn.

I'm looking on ebay and see a number of processors for sale. For example there's allot of i5 processors from China and around.

Does anyone have any experience with buying processors and replacing them yourself?

ALSO.... have you bought any from ebay and are the ones from China reliable. If it's anything like the SD cards you can buy from there (which the majority seem to be fake, I know this from first hand experience), then maybe it wouldn't be such a good idea.

Are good processors that expensive? Any tips would be helpful.
Thanks

You need to find out what type of CPU socket your motherboard has, and make sure any CPU you are interested in is made to fit in that socket. Also to be safe you should plug your motherboard model number into the manufacturer's website and check the compatible parts list to ensure the CPU will work with that board.

I haven't really seen a trend of counterfeit CPUs coming out of China but when in doubt it's better to be safe than sorry.

The last time I did a processor upgrade, I also had to buy and replace the mainboard, memory and OS as well as the CPU. It was a big jump in processors to be sure, but it was actually a lot easier than it sounds like it might have been.
I went ahead and put in a new GPU at the time too but it wasn't needed to get the CPU I wanted, the rest was.

It's not difficult really, as long as you match the socket to your motherboard. Generally the CPU is held in by a small leaver, and can only 'go in' one way, often indicated with a small arrow on the corner. It's necessary (It really doesn't need to be a lot) to put a small amount of thermal paste on the top, spread it about slightly, slap the heat-sink back on an you're done.