Are these the right parts?

Awesomeness

Solid State Member
I have never built a tower before but it sounds like fun and sounds really good for making computers on a cost/power ratio rather than just buying a big brand name. So that's why I want to do it! ^_^

However, the "I have never built a tower before" part presents a little problem to me. I did my best to find compatible parts (I think they are all compatible) and this is what I got:

Screen shot 2011-09-28 at 6.24.08 PM.png

So, if these were shipped to me right now (gasp!), would I have all the parts I need to assemble my computer?

And more importantly, do these parts match up? As in they are compatible with each other?

I am 0% experienced in buying computer parts as well. This was entirely based upon my own guesswork. Could you give me some comments on what I can do (if anything) to improve this setup? As in do I need the second set of RAM? Or should I want a different video card? etc.

Thanks guys, I'm new here :D

Other than a slight misstep on the motherboard (I would have gone with a Z68 chipset instead, but that's because I know about them) and the fact that you don't have a power supply, you did pretty good overall.

That, and an operating system, but that's usually up to the builder to determine that. :)

FYI - most power supplies unless they're labeled "Green" Come with the power cord that you spent money on. ;)

Edit - my bad, I thought you meant that you had already ordered them and were merely exasperated to find out you may have picked wrong... :)

Here's the motherboard I would go with:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128502

and the power supply:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139020

and just in case you need it:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16832116986

;)

Okay, so I did about a tenth as bad as I expected. :p

I'm planning on temporarily having Debian until I can... er, obtain... Windows 7 for dual booting. >_>