Solid State Member
Hey guys,

Just yesterday I built myself a new computer with the following specs:

ATI x1900 AIW
AMD 64 3500+
1 Gig ram
200gb SATA HD
Asus xpress 3200 crossfire mobo

Now on paper this computer should be able to run F.E.A.R on high with decent FPS. However, yesterday I installed BF 2 and was extremely disapointed with the results. Even before I started playing the game (IE during registration) it was lagging like crazy. It would work for 10 seconds and then completely freeze for 3. I downloaded all the latest drivers for my hardware already and simply cant figure out why its doing this.
Then I tried playing FEAR. I saw the same thing, while it wasnt nearly as bad as BF 2, it would lag or skip whenever something would load, even with the settings turned to medium.

I also ran 3DMark05 and scored around 8600, slightly lower than the ones I compared to online, but only by a hundred or so (and they had better processors).

Please help, it is very frustrating and I have simply run out of ideas,
Thanks

Hey, and welcome.

Your computer is a very powerful one, so I don't understand that one bit...
Your video card is one of the best as well!

It most certainly is the CPU thats causing the problem. Heres the deal:

I started BF2 and before I even entered a game I ctr-alt deleted out of it and noticed that my CPU usage was at 100%...it would stay at 100% and then drop down to 10% for a few seconds then back to 100% for another 10, etc.

Now should this be happening? Maybe with a pentium 3 processor but not with an AMD 64 3500+. Its not the best processor on the market by any means, but my friend can run BF 2 completely fine with a 2800+.

Any ideas on why its doing this?

Erm, drivers is the most partical advice I got give those omega a try. Um other then that IDK I just remember reading somthing like this the root of the evil was CPU bottle necking... Didn't ever find out what the solution was.