Reformatting Questions for the Noobie

Jp425

Baseband Member
I want to do a reformat of my computer and am trying to find a few things out.
I used belarc to print out all my components..

but how do i find out if my windows xp pro 2002 is a 32 bit or a 64 bit

because i want to downlaod the drivers before hand, and when i go the asus site for my motherboard http://support.asus.com/download/download.aspx?SLanguage=en-us
it has both 32 and 64 bit files.

------------
what are the drivers i should save?
the motherboard, display drivers, sound drivers, printer drivers, AMD processor drivers. anything else?

and when i go to install is there a order to them. Should i install the motherboard drivers first, then the display drivers, then processor drivers, sound , printer?

thanks, this is my first time reformattring.

I'd venture to guess that your XP is a plain ol' 32 bit version. To be sure, do this:

Click Start, click Run, type sysdm.cpl, and then click OK. Click the General tab. The operating system appears as follows:
• For a 64-bit version operating system: Microsoft Windows XP Professional x64 Edition Version appears under System.
• For a 32-bit version operating system: Microsoft Windows XP Professional Version appears under System.

The drivers you'll need are motherboard chipset, video card, sound (if using an add in card), and any other peripherals that have been added. The order you posted is a good way to install them.

What motherboard are you using?

I'd venture to guess that your XP is a plain ol' 32 bit version. To be sure, do this:

Click Start, click Run, type sysdm.cpl, and then click OK. Click the General tab. The operating system appears as follows:
• For a 64-bit version operating system: Microsoft Windows XP Professional x64 Edition Version appears under System.
• For a 32-bit version operating system: Microsoft Windows XP Professional Version appears under System.