Please Step by step on how to set up wireless networking

darkserpant

In Runtime
I was having huge problems with trying to get my laptop hooked up with my wirelss home network. I messed with setting I guess I shouln'nt of, so I reformated my laptop back to day one so I could start over cause I could'nt figure it out from where I was. Now could somebody please help me out and help me step by step and set up my home network. I am very new to the computer technology so please forgive me when I say "what did you mean" Anyway this is the equipment I have. Laptop(HP dv6449) cable modem(motorola SB5101) Router(LINKSYS WRT54G) The Comcast cable line comes in from the wall to the modem, then I have an ethernet going from the the modem to the router then an ethernet to my desktop. Now I want to get my laptop so I can use it all over the house. Could somebody please instruct me on what to do next. I have to go to work this morning for a little, but I will be back probally in about 6 hours. Just incase you guys help, I don't want you to think I'm ignoring you. I will check back as soon as I come in the door. Thanks a million.

The first question I have is, does the laptop have a wireless adapter? I see that it has built in Bluetooth wireless, but that won't allow you to connect to your Linksys WRT54G.

OK, quick question. Does the desktop connect to the internet? If it doesn't, make sure the cable from modem is going to the "Internet" port on the router, and the cable going to your computer will go in any of the other four ports on back.

Now for wireless. Your router has three ways of setting up wireless. You can use the CD that came with it, the little CISCO button on the front is supposed to be a quick wireless setup (I'm not sure how well that works), or you can set it up manually through the web browser. I believe the IP for the web-browser should be 192.168.0.1, but it could be 192.168.1.1 default username and password are both "admin".