Need help regarding multiple moniters/users per computer.

Harb

Beta member
Here's my situation: a family friend owns a buisness, and has sort of an odd request for a new computer. They want a computer with 3 moniters running to one computer. I know that its easy to do with 2 moniters/one comp, but I've never done 3 before. I have two questions regarding this:

1). What all would I need to do 3 moniters/1 comp? Does windows support 3, and would i just need a second video card or somthing?

2). Here's the weird one. Would it be possible to get 3 moniters, 3 keyboards, 3 mice, running to 1 comp, and each moniter/keyboard/mouse using a different user? Basically, get 1 comp to act as 3 separate ones?

I've got no idea where to start with this :S The first one(3 moniters same desktop and all) isnt too tough I think, but hell, 3 people using 1 comp at the same time? I've never heard of that :|

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Hmmm...

Simplest way in my book is to set up some p1 or p2, a p3 if money allows, as smart terminals and just network them to the main box. The main box will have to have two LAN cards or two lan ports on the motherboard. Just bridge the lan connections in the network settings and you're set.
There is a place near me that sells p3 rebuilts for around $110.00USD. Used monitors go for $50.00USD around here. And mouse and keyboards will set you back a whole 10 or 15 US dollars. You could try hunting around the local repair shops. Might be something worth considering...

edit: If you go the network route you have to use crossover cables instead of patch cables. You don't need a router or a switch or a hub. Just go from one terminal to the main box and the same for the other terminal. Down and dirty...

Alright, things just got alot easier. It turns out they just want 3 moniters on one comp for one person; like the typical multi-moniter setup.