My birth day gift from my mom

shark3149

Baseband Member
I got a new computer for my birthday.My mother ordered my some parts for a build.She is so sweet.This is what she got me.

cpu: core i7 920 Nehalem

mother board: Asus p6t

Hard drive: Western Digital Caviar 640gb

opi drives: 2 Asus dvd drives

memory: 6gb ocr gold ddr3 1600

power supply: ocz 700 watt modxstream-pro

gpu: sapphire hd 3870 (not so good)

monitor: Acer 22" full hd

case: Thermaltake armor plus full tower

So what do you think? I would have picked a few differnt things but thats ok she tried to do her best with what she could afford.I am just greatfull to have such a sweet mom.This is my first build.I got this stuff yesterday morning.I dove right in and started building it.Well as you can guess I have run it to some problems with the wires.I got it just about all.I just need some help with the fans and the gpu.I dont under stand I have four pin plugs from the fans, but only three pins on the mother board and not much room.Second I found the plug for the gpu but it is way to short to reach the power supply.Please can some one help me? Thank you in advance.

looks pretty nice, hope you enjoy it.
The max my parents would spend on a computer for me would be $500 without the monitor.

Congratz on the PC. Your mom is very cool for ordering you this, was this like totally a surprise for you? Did you come home and you had all this stuff waiting for you? If so it must of been cool!!!

Anyways, I think you can just plug in the 3 pin in the 4 pin slot and you will be ok, correct me if I'm wrong but the extra pin is to control the fan speed or something... I'm not sure how your GPU power cable cant reach the power connector, but try looking on newgg for some extension cables then.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...der=BESTMATCH&Description=6+pin+power&x=0&y=0