IBM T20 Think Pad

tankerdanker

Beta member
I hope I'm posting this up in the right spot? Lets start off by saying hello to everyone an of course I'm a newbie here to this forum.....lol

Now the question I have is I got a IBM T20 Think Pad the original hard drive for it (12gig) Is now out of it an replaced with a upgraded hard drive. Now I had someone put it in an mess with the BIO settings or what ever eles I'm not sure but my problem now if its got a fresh hard drive in it yet its running like 100 times slower what do I have to do to try to speed it up?

I'm new at computers type stuff but I also enjoy learning something new everyday so If you could help me I'd appreciate it

Thank You

Well, I'd like to welcome you to our community :)

First, your thread isn't in the right place. It's under the General Software/Hardware lounge you should post, so I will redirect.

Second, for your problem, chances are that the kid messed up a etting that could run your PC slower. Try loading the BIOS default.

Well, I'd like to welcome you to our community :)

First, your thread isn't in the right place. It's under the General Software/Hardware lounge you should post, so I will redirect.

Second, for your problem, chances are that the kid messed up a etting that could run your PC slower. Try loading the BIOS default.

Well I'm sorry for not placing it up in the right place an I thank you for the default advise (i defaulted it) an its still slow from the time i start to boot it up an windows loads up i go to hit my internet explorer icon an honestly it takes like 4-5 minutes for internet explorer to appear

This is a fresh hard drive it shouldnt run this slow should it?

Have you installed all your drivers and windows updates etc. Is it possible you could have a virus, or have you not been online yet. Are you running the same OS as before?