How to set up Vista with multiple hard drives?

GVSS

Baseband Member
I'm soon going to install windows vista home premium 64-bit on my computer and I am also getting a new hard drive for my system since my old one if pretty full.

How do I set up the computer with my program files on one drive, and the other drive just for storage of photos, music, ect.

I'm new to having multiple drive on my system. So sorry if this is a noob question. Also, my system is raid compatible but I'm not sure of the benefits/drawbacks of using raid and whether I should use it.

FWIW - the new drive will not be the same capacity as the older one, and may not be the same brand since i haven't ordered it yet. This is the hard drive I currently have and plan on using for storing the program files

Hey GVSS,

It will not be a problem at all to do what you ask.
Since the drives will be seperate drives, you can simply install Windows on one; for example if it's C: (The other maybe being D), and it will not affect the other drive, leaving the other open to anything else you want it for.

Once Windows is up, and the other drive you want to place data on isn't formatted yet; if its for example new, you can easily right click the drive, and select to Format it in NTFS.
This will then make it accessible for any media you wish to place upon it.

It gets slightly more complicated if you wanted to use one drive, and split them into two partitions or parts, but the Windows setup makes this pretty easy too.
It'd simply give you different partition sizes to choose from to split the data/programs the way you want to and perform the install as normal.
To Windows, the one drive would then be seen as two theoretical drives. This still provides you with a split (or multiple splits), but without needing two drives.
Sorry if you already know that.

To answer the RAID question, there are many types. The most common types are RAID 0, and RAID 1.
This is a list of the other RAIDs, and what they do: