Driver/controller card not recognized

parkpointer

Solid State Member
Verdana Black
I recently tried to upgrade my AntiVirus software and a compatibility problem stopped the upgrade.
Several months ago my computer suffered a major crash. I had $450 to spend, and was not able to find any available computers in that price range. I am an amateur user, so I took on the task to rebuild my computer using both forums and friends. Isn't ebay wonderful. The system is listed below: (before/after)
1998 - Dell XPS R series running with Windows 98SE operating system
*Intel PII-400MHz/PowerLeap Celeron PIII-1.4GHz
*Maxtor 9.2GB-5200rpm/Maxtor 160GB-7200rpm with Maxtor 100/133 ATA controller (I was instructed to partition the drive into thirds so as not to give the computer too much cause to error.)
*Toshiba CD/DVD ROM SD-M1202/Toshiba CD/DVD ROM SD-M1612
*Cinemaster C WDM DVD Driver
*(Add) Sony CRX175A1 CD-RW Drive
*TurtleBeach Montego A3 sound/Creative SB Audigy LS sound
*NEC Floppydrive/Panasonic Floppydrive
*STB Invidia 128 Velocity ZX video card
*US Robotics 56KVoice Dialup-modem/Linksys LNE100TX DSL modem
*Corded MS Wheel Mouse/Corded MS optical wheel mouse
*Dell 19-inch D1226H monitor
*Dell natural keybd/MS natural Internet keybd
Add regular accessories: printer, scanner, speakers & headphones, joystick.
A problem occurred most recently that I cannot seem to fix. I found that under 'My Computer' listed on the Performance tab this statement:Compatibiltiy-mode paging reduces overall system performance; then Drive C, Drive D, & Drive E are using MS-DOS compatibility mode file system. In checking at a Microsoft KnowledgeBase site I learned that this occurs when Windows doesn't recognize a driver in either Config.sys or Autoexec.bat files. MS further suggests contacting the Harddrive manufacturer about any suggested fixes. I have done that, but there hasn't been any fixes that have worked.