Custom Build Workstation

dedringer

Beta member
I was hoping someone could look at my proposed specs and maybe give some suggestions, comments or tips.

I'm an Architecture Undergrad and I'm looking at building a custom system for myself, something that is more like a workstation rather than your normal consumer PC. My goal is to create a system that's as small as possible but doesn't lack power, as well as stay as low-cost as possible.

Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion 541 RC-541-SKN1 MicroATX Mini Tower
Mobo: ASUS M2NBP-VM CSM Socket AM2 NVIDIA Quadro NVS 210S Micro ATX AMD
CPU: AMD Opteron 1212 Santa Ana 2.0GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 Dual Core
PSU: DYNAPOWER USA EP-50X.C563-BX ATX12V 500W
GPU: PNY VCQFX560-PCIE-PB-V Quadro FX560 128MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 ST3160811AS 160GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s HDD
Memory: 2 x GeIL 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)
Optical: LITE-ON Black 18X DVD+/-RW
Monitor: Hanns·G HW-191DPB Black 19" 5ms DVI Widescreen LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 700:1

hi, i do some cad and a lot of dcc work and i think i can help you out.

i was in the same boat a couple of months ago and was looking for a killer machine to work revit.

the things i learned after buying a $2000 top of the line video card was that the "workstation" cards have some of the worst bang for the buck. You would be better off purchasing a "gaming" card and using that. for instance the fx560 costs about $250 and its based on a much cheaper nvidia chipset. so what you can do is (and what i have done) is to buy a gaming card for the same or even lower price. the Cpu i would strongly recommend getting an Intel conroe based cpu, they are the best on the market right now and the new opterons dont compete.

here is what i would buy (based on a budget of about $1500-$1700):

OPTICAL SAMSUNG 18X
CASE LIAN LI MID TOWER
HD SEAGATE 250 GB 7200RPM SATA 3.0
MONITOR SAMSUNG 20" 1680x1050
GPU BFG 7950GT 512MB
PSU ANTEC 500 WATT