Can a laptop handle 100% gaming?

Firemedic623

Beta member
I browsed through searching the forums for a topic similar to this but did find anything that answered my question specifically. I understand you cant upgrade laptops, cooling can be an issue etc.. As technology advances I read more and more about how laptops can handle anything that a desktop these days but I am skeptical.
I have owned two laptops; 1 in 2002 and another that was manufactured in 2007. I used both for gaming and they did ok but over heating was my major issue and some memory issues. Has laptop advancement come far enough to provide a reliable product strictly for gaming with side browsing and some teaching / learning tools on the side? Any advice and / or recommendations would be appreciated.

**If I created a dead horse topic I apologize. I spent a good amount of time browsing attempting to find the question I was looking for but did not find anything very specific.**

Well, I currently modified my own Laptop(From a POS to a Gamer) and use it for gaming when I boot up Linux on my PC and turn it onto a server.

There's nothing to argue with this, obviously it's not gonna be as good as a PC because you can't put external video cards in it and so forth. Your gaming MIGHT be a little choppy but you can always update your RAM and Hard Drive.

Hell, I'd say go for it, I did.

I game all the time on my MacBook Pro with the 9600M GT. I used to own a rig with a 4850 in it as the GPU. I have to bring the res of my games down on my MBP, but it's not really a big deal for me.

So yeah.

As long as you keep the laptop on a desk (and not on your lap) you should be fine. There's always laptop coolers that your laptop sits on if it gets too hot for your taste.

It really comes down to your wallet and what you call a "laptop". But, CAN a laptop game? HELL YEA!! lol

http://laptops.toshiba.com/laptops/qosmio