Computer science.

Mar5000k

Beta member
Hi guys,
I am doing a bachelors degree in computer science but I am still in first year(Junior). I do really love writing soft-wares, a passion that made me decide to change my carrier.
My question is, Do you thing my 4-year bachelors degree in Cs will equip me with enough skills to write softwares similar to Nero, windows media player or even better ones??

My question is, Do you thing my 4-year bachelors degree in Cs will equip me with enough skills to write softwares similar to Nero, windows media player or even better ones??

No - but nor is it designed to.

Sure, you'll be able to write various applications with the knowledge you gain there (or at least you should be able to) but your degree likely won't teach you how to be an all singing, all dancing programming genius that can trump anyone else in the field. It gives you what, in the grand scheme of things, is the very basics so that you can progress (through academia or industry.)

Such applications are almost always written by large teams of people, who will all concentrate on a certain aspect of the application and then bring their functionality together. As a junior developer if you were working on such an application, you would be given small, simple tasks to do - perhaps testing the latest blu-ray burning feature for instance. You may then get into helping to code, or research the code behind a small feature of the software, before taking some part in implementing it. But it will always be small.

If you do get high up enough to oversee a large part of such an application, it will almost always be just that - only overseeing and not coding. Some may say this is sad but it's just the way things tend to work!

In my last year of my Comp Sci bachelor here, and I can say with utmost certainty that no, that's not the case. Not even close.