Hosting my Business Site - Please help the hosting noob

iPwn

..m.0,0.m..,
Hello again everybody,
As suggested by root in my business thread, I want to purchase a .com domain and then host it from my home. I am completely retarded when it comes to hosting as I have no experience with it. So naturally, I have some questions.
1. I purchase a domain online, but who should I purchase through?
2. When I get the domain, how do I set it up so that traffic gets routed to my IP address?
3. When I get traffic routed to my IP address, how do I configure a Linux server? (if you don't know the answer, no worries, I'm a member of the Ubuntu forums as well)

If there's anything I missed from being so absolutely noobish in with hosting, please point it out, Thanks again for all your replies!

Edit: I found out how to configure the Linux server from the Ubuntu forums so that question is answered.

I have two recommendations for domain purchasing, Godaddy or 1&1.

I loathe 1&1's hosting control panel, but they DO offer free private domain registration with the purchase of a domain name. That is, when you buy the domain rights for the year (or however long) you get free privatization on the domain owner details, etc. Godaddy charges you a fee on top of the cost of the domain for however long you buy the name for, so while you can get a domain for $8-9 at 1&1 (as low as $6 for first time buyers) you'll pay that plus an additional $9 from Godaddy for privacy registration.

Setting up the domain to get it to the site is a simple matter of setting it up with your registar in their control panel using DNS entries that point to the servers via the domain name. Generally 24-48 hours later (sometimes way less) your domain name www.soandso.com will start working with the host you pick.