Computer working at full load but system is idle??

AleksIsBored

Beta member
First off, this is my first time ever posting in a forum of any kind, so excuse me if I do something wrong and correct me so that I can meet all expectations next time.

I'm having two problems, not sure if they are related or not.

Background information:
I built my own computer in October 2012 (Under a year ago) and was very pleased with the results. I can run all the most demanding games with mods at all the highest settings with absolutely no lags.

Problem One:

After about a month, my computer started taking forever to start up. It would load everything up to the desktop screen and then I'd have to wait 10-15 minutes on the desktop screen until I could use my computer normally. But after that it works no problem. When I just built my computer it would load up 20 seconds flat.

Yes the obvious answer would be to check my startup programs, but my laptop which is a slow piece of ***t has more startup programs and I can use it after just two minutes. I tried checking MSCONFIG and I hardly have anything there. I was wondering how this could be solved.

Problem Two:

This one I only encountered twice, one of the times being today.

I was watching YouTube videos and was noticing that the video would lag after every 10 seconds or so. Suspecting a CPU or RAM problem, I looked in the task manager. Sure enough 90 percent of my CPU AND 15GB of my RAM were being used up o_O I closed all the programs, nothing changed. I looked in the processes tab and only one program was using any of my CPU and it only said 01. Then I added up all the RAM usage, it didn't even total one GB.

My computer isn't telling me what is using up all of this CPU and RAM, I decided to try and restart my computer. When I shut it down, it was trying to shut down for 30+ minutes until I decided to hold the power button and kill it. Then it started up and worked normally.