can my ip be hacked ?

bev1

Solid State Member
sorry as I am sure this has been asked many times but is it possible for someone to use my ip address to make it look like I am visiting sites and possibly sending e mails?
Im not very technical minded with the ins and outs of computers but I really need to know if I may have been hacked.
Thanks

can my ip be hacked ?

No. However, the system 'assigned' to that IP address could possibly be hack-able. ;)

sorry as I am sure this has been asked many times but is it possible for someone to use my ip address to make it look like I am visiting sites and possibly sending e mails?

It's easy to spoof IP addresses, email headers etc... but the odds of it actually happening to you and someone using your IP address are very very slim.

Im not very technical minded with the ins and outs of computers but I really need to know if I may have been hacked.

Heres an easy one; whats your OS? Does your system run/behave/act a different than usual? Do you see files/folders on your system you didnt install? etc...
last but least why do you think your system was hacked? It's possible espically if you don't know sh1t about computers. ;)

Thanks for the replies
I am running Windows XP. using Virgin
The reason I am asking may sound a bit strange, well it does to me. someone I know said they had someone playing games with e mails and setting up false profiles etc on a site. originally I was told it was their ex, then out of the blue I was accussed, they could offer no information as to how they got to this idea. I know it was not me, and its possible they made it up to finish the relationship. dont know. but thought it wouldnt hurt to ask the question for my own peace of mind. I have had a few occassions when my cursor seemed to move by itself. I have shut down and run AVG scan, and sometimes found Trojans and put in vault. the person also was having problems with their pc at one point but said it fixed itself