Programming frustration

jcrew

Solid State Member
Hello,

I am new to programming. I am also a career changer in my 40's looking to learn a new skill to get a better job.

I'm a logical thinker but understanding loops, functions, symbols, hash tags, and general coding is frustrating and complex. It s difficult to create a program from scratch and to learn coding.

Last year, I started out with C++ and became "ok" at it. But after a few months I gave up. I became too confused with the advanced stuff. I ended up memorizing the code to create games and copying and pasting someone else's work --and calling myself a programmer. Geez.
So I told myself --- "I need to understand and learn what I am coding so I can get a decent job (or freelance) and not BS my way through it."

I want to know exactly what each function is. What "char" means. What # is, etc. I want to be so well versed that I can teach someone a computer language.

The youtube tutorials for newbies are terrible. Many of those instructors assume we know programming.

I want to master coding. I need this stuff spoon fed to me in small amounts like I a 6th grader. I want to fully understand how to write clean code.

I think any programming language is difficult. I even tried learning "Scratch" the programming for kids to learn the basics. Epic fail.

Does anyone know any tutorials or awesome teachers for someone who knows ABSOLUTELY nothing about programming but wants to write an application, or a widget for a desktop or create a game?

Thanks.

What languages are you interested in learning, If you are interested in Java, PHP then code academy is an excellent way to learn.

Sent from my GT-I9506 using Computer Forums mobile app

Last edited:
I prefer to stick with C, C++, Java.

However, most of the tutorials on youtube are ridiculously unclear and they advance to the complex stuff pretty fast.