Programs

Jeremyr325

Solid State Member
I am we to servers but learning. I have a sever running 2011 I have files shared by a few stations witha mapped drive. Can I load a program on the server and access it from a workstation besides using Remote Desktop I will be on the same network thanks for any help

I am new to servers but can you load a program on a server and access and use from a local machine with out using Remote desk top?

Sounds like you want to look into something like Citrix or Terminal Server. These allow you to host the program on the server and for it to be launche by users connecting to that server.

I'm no expert on the matter so google is probably your best bet.

Alternatively a select few programs would let you do it by simply sharing the program files folder and going to the right program. This only works with programs that don't make entries into your registry or don't need other resources / files on the computer running the program, even then to my knowledge its still a bit of a lottery

This depends entirely on the program. Some programs are network programs, some are not.

You can also look into Terminal Services.

ssc456 said:
Sounds like you want to look into something like Citrix or Terminal Server. These allow you to host the program on the server and for it to be launche by users connecting to that server.

I'm no expert on the matter so google is probably your best bet.

Alternatively a select few programs would let you do it by simply sharing the program files folder and going to the right program. This only works with programs that don't make entries into your registry or don't need other resources / files on the computer running the program, even then to my knowledge its still a bit of a lottery

Isn't terminal server the same as Remote Desktop in windows server 2011. Also I have a million different answer on this is remote a free service or do you have to purchase users. Thanks for the help