Building own computer step I: What i should look for when selecting a case?

Black_star-rising

Solid State Member
Since i am a student atm, i don't have much money to spend. I have thought about Antec 300 since it seems to pretty cheap and ok looking (from the inside of course). I'm not planning on building any hightech computer, just basic for gaming, video-editing, but still something that i could upgrade in coming years. So not the smallest of cases.

So what should i look for when selecting a case?

First thing - make sure you find a case that you like the look of. Many cases boast loads of features but ultimately it comes down to whether or not you like it.

Once you have selected some cases, then you should check out their features. For example: hard drive bays, fan spaces, does it come with fans, does it come with a psu... and so on. Perhaps one rather important, but surprisingly ignored points is the size. For some size is no problem, however I once bought a case (can't remember its name) which was unfortunately too small to fit under my desk.

If you still need some suggestions the Cooler Master and NZXT cases are quite popular. Personally I'd also suggest the Fractal Design Cases, but maybe I'm a bit biased :S

You can determine what kind of case you want based on what your goals of the computer are. If you're building a high end gaming PC, you don't want to shoehorn the components into a cheap case with poor airflow.

On the flip side, you wouldn't build a middle level PC for checking email and web surfing in something like an Antec 900.

On the flip side, you wouldn't build a middle level PC for checking email and web surfing in something like an Antec 900.

The funny thing is, I've seen so many people do that before. When it comes down to it (and I'm not saying this is right) a lot feel that looks should be the most important factor