Learn about Servers.

Churla27

Baseband Member
I'm in my 2nd year of school, and granted my teacher went over a few things about setting up and running servers, but not enough for me to know a lot about it (My school kinda sucks). Whats the best way to learn how to run or set up a server?

It's so bad that I dont even know if an FTP, Web or Mail servers are hardware or software? LOL. Help is appreciated. Thanks. Matt

It really depends on the server you want to set up. The first goal is to find out what kind of server you want to set up, since there are so many different kinds of servers.

FTP servers are pretty easy if you're running Windows, just grab a copy of FileZilla and set up the server component (free)

Web servers are a little harder, but I highly recommend apache friends - xampp if you don't want to tussle with IIS and it's complexity (but it's powerful too) - XAMPP is free, and includes the FTP server component in the package. I run it on a relatively old system, 800 MHz and 384 MB of RAM and it does a fine job, even with light SQL based page serves like Wordpress or Coppermine Photo gallery.

Mail servers are a little harder still, and there exists solutions out there other than Exchange, but Exchange is the gold standard for Email, Calendar sharing and collaboration tools.

Does your school participate in the Microsoft TechNet for Educators program? If not, check out dreamspark.com and see if your school qualifies for it, or if you have an .EDU EMail address, you can sign up on your own in some cases. Dreamspark is free Microsoft software, including Server operating systems, for free for as long as you're a student.

I have experience with everything I listed, and I know there are a few other IT Admins around here as well, so don't be afraid to ask for help. :)

Hey thanks og. This helps. I'll look around at the programs you mentioned and see what I can do!