Creating a website...for a beginner?

swamp_rattler

Baseband Member
I'm thinking of creating a website for my various nature photography and blogs (so what, I'm a nerd!). Anyhoo, I have NO experience whatsoever in doing such, and I don't know where to begin. I'd be continuously adding updates/trip reports, etc and because I have a ton of photos (and the number would continuously build) I'd need a lot of space allowance. There would also be a lot of narrative, so it's not just a simple photograph site.

I have no idea where to host, how much it would cost, how to start, etc etc. Here's a couple sample images to show the size of the photographs I'd like to use on my site (i.e. I don't want small, detail-reduced thumbnail images):

MassasaugaSecond2.jpg

EatingMerlin.jpg

Any thoughts??

I reccomend WebHosting UK. I host my websites with them. They may not be THE cheapest, however they are, in my opinion amoungst the best.

I have an affiliate link: http://www.webhosting.uk.com/affiliates/idevaffiliate.php?id=460

and a non-affiliate link: http://www.webhosting.uk.com/.

It'd be cool if you'd use the Affiliate link - It helps me out, and doesnt cost any extra for you. But meh, If you dont want to, then that's OK!

Once you've got your hosting, there would be a quite a few things you could do...

You could

a.) Use HTML/Dreamweaver to code your website yourself. The advantage of this is that you could get everything JUST how you wanted it... The disadvantage is that you'd need to learn HTML, CSS and perhaps Javascript to do the job well.