Audio on HTML site (basic question)

CluelessChimp

Beta member
Hi,

I've just started working my way through the W3school website and I'm stuck already :ermm:

Can't get my head round how you get audio files up. On the site is suggests code like the:

<a href="song.mp3">Play Song</a>

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://mediaplayer.yahoo.com/js">
</script>

but I don't get how you link the song.mp3 part to one of my own files. What am I missing? I thought you maybe had to upload a file to a host site or something and then put int the URL but couldn't get that to work. I'm new to all this, sorry. Any advice would be very much appreciated, thanks:)

Hi,

So you are right on track. You upload the file to your server, and then you set the href to the path of the file that you want. Since you are just starting with html I would recommend going with the html5 example below.

HTML:
<audio controls="controls" height="50px" width="100px">
  <source src="song.mp3" type="audio/mpeg" />
  <source src="song.ogg" type="audio/ogg" />
<embed height="50px" width="100px" src="song.mp3"      />
</audio>

Rather than coping what it says on the w3schools page just read that and it will help you understand each element.

Sorry, still utterly lost.

What do you mean upload the file to the server? You mean upload it to a site like this:

zSHARE - 2-07 Ravel_ Pr__lude.m4a - Free File Hosting Service | Audio and Video Sharing | Image Uploading | Web storage

Then what do I do? I've tried putting that wherever it says "song.something" but that seems to be wrong.

How does this href come into play? Do I need to put something like this:

<a href "http://www.zshare.net/download/989646174fee8078/">

lol, sorry for being dumb

OK so that link is BS. Ignore that.

Think I've got it to work now with the yahoo media player code. So I just have to link it to a file on my PC like this right: