Ubuntu

MetalOverlord76

Daemon Poster
I'm thinking of using Ubuntu 9.10 because Windows seems to hate me. I have 789GB of free Hard Drive space. Would I be able to duel-boot Windows with Ubuntu on my HP? I've never done this sort of thing before so I'm a bit nervous. If I am able to duel-boot, how exactly will I be able to switch between the two operating systems? Thanks.

Install the Grub or LILO bootloader when you install ubuntu. Since you already have an OS, it should automatically configure it, but you will have to watch while repartitioning your hard drive, so you shrink the windows partition, not erase it.

I'll offer you some advice though. Ubuntu 9.10 is a cluster f%&#, so you should probably use debian 5. You only need to download CD 1, the rest is just extra stuff that you can install if you want, but unless you want a ton of software, it is faster to use synaptics package manager (if you're a n00b) or apt-get to install what you need.

It will do it automatically at the very end of the installation. A menu comes up asking if you want to install GRUB to the MBR. Tell it OK, and it will work. Alternatively, you can pull up the install menu and install LILO.

whoa...TS, 'dual' is the word you're looking for. "duel" means this:
duel.jpg

And yes, you have plenty of space for it. Ubuntu, like most Linux distributions, has very, very low system requirements. It'll run on almost anything.

I manage to start up Ubuntu, and I am prompted to select my language, time zone, etc.