Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Software and Operating Systems
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2011, 09:40 PM   #1
Solid State Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Default not sure if this is the right thread to post to

Hi

I decided to join as Iím building a new computer. My current computer is 7 years and ití time for replacement. I know very little about my home computer so I figured the best way to learn is build one. As one of my pet peeves is paying somebody to work on some ting I could fix or build. I do a lot my own car repairs and have built my own boat. I have purchased the parts over the past five months. And have purchase higher end parts then I probably need but will be nice for the future. I have assembly the computer but did not have much luck. Iím currently searching the forum for clues to the error of my ways. My system is;

  • P6X58D-E - Motherboard
  • Intel i7-930
  • OCZ 3G1333LV6G DDR3
  • Radeon HD 5670 1GB
  • Sound Blaster X-FI Titanium Fatal1ty
  • Western Digital 2TB Caviar Green
  • Corsair TX 750 W
  • Thermaltake V9 Blacx

So far I have found out I should be sticking to building boats and fixing cars. I tried to take my time and assemble it correctly and neatly. When I assembled everything I started it up and got to the BIOS and checked the settings. Then I made my first mistake as I set it to read the hard disc first. Then after a long struggle I found that I should set the DVD first. Then I tried to load windows 7 on the hard drive. This crashed after 10%. I figured this was because the hard drive was not formatted. After stumbling around in BIOS I thought I found a way to format the drive and did format c; /q. and I thought that did it. So I loaded on windows 7 again and got to over 90%, when it went CHKDSK/F. I think I hit enter and it came up BOOTMGR hit CTRL/ALT/DEL. I have not been able to get past this and even if I put the disc in it comes up as an error. It says:

  • A problem has been detected and Windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer.
  • If this is the first time youíve seen this stop error screen restart your computer. If this appears again, follow these steps.
  • Disable or uninstall any Anti virus (none installed), disk defragmentation (did not get that far) or back up utilities. Check your hard drive configuration and check for dated drivers. Run CHKDSK /F to check for hard drive corruption and then restart your computer.
  • Technical Information
  • XXX stop: 0X00000024 (0X00000000001904FB, OXFFFFF88002A88002A88128, 0XFFFFF88002A87980, 0XFFFFF8000CEB7A87

That was 4 days ago when I decided it would be best to start reading before I take another step. My feeling was I did not format the hard drive correctly and it has screwed it up! But that is just a wild guess. Any body have an idea what direction I should take?

The name Knottythots is the name of my boat!
__________________

genesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 10:22 PM   #2
Daemon Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 624
Default Re: not sure if this is the right thread to post to

you would be better off formatting the drive during the Windows installation.
I would delete the partition, then create it, then do a quick format.
and then do the windows install

"Knottythots" that's cool
__________________

__________________
Asus M4A88T-M/USB3<>PhenomII X4 965e<>Asus ENGTX460
Seagate 320GB/1TB<>Win7 Ulti 64Bit<>Antec900
SyncMaster 2220WM<>HyperX 16gb<>Cooler Master 600W
detox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 10:45 PM   #3
Solid State Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: not sure if this is the right thread to post to

Hi Detox

I would love to find a way to reformat the hard drive but can't get away to reformat. I was thinking of putting it my old computer but the wiring does not match.
genesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 12:17 AM   #4
Daemon Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 624
Default Re: not sure if this is the right thread to post to

go about installing Windows, read all the screens that come up. "Which type of installation do you want" Click CUSTOM, Then there will be an option that asks Where do you want to install Windows. click the drive once, then just below, you should see 'ADVANCED OPTIONS'
four new options pop up, click DELETE, when that is done, click NEW, then click FORMAT
and then go ahead with the install.
__________________
Asus M4A88T-M/USB3<>PhenomII X4 965e<>Asus ENGTX460
Seagate 320GB/1TB<>Win7 Ulti 64Bit<>Antec900
SyncMaster 2220WM<>HyperX 16gb<>Cooler Master 600W
detox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 08:42 AM   #5
Site Team
 
celegorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,713
Send a message via AIM to celegorm
Default Re: not sure if this is the right thread to post to

Just something to add while your trying things. The last few WD Green drives I have gotten have been some advanced format drive that required jumper settings based upon what was being done. Can you verify that the jumper is set properly? There should be a quick instructional thing right on the label.
__________________
"as a fanboy i refuse to admit it and will pull countless things out of my butt to disprove it"

Team Thelegorm! Total Kills: 21 (i iz in uor profile, editsing your sigz)
celegorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 09:23 AM   #6
Solid State Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: not sure if this is the right thread to post to

Thank you Detox and Celegorm I will check that out when I get home tonight.
genesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 02:28 PM   #7
Solid State Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: not sure if this is the right thread to post to

Last night I stuck in the Windows 7 disc again and dam if it did not load. And it looked great. I then started loading in the various drivers and the errors started happening. I then decided that since I finally got in I should wipe it out and format the hard drive. Well it won’t let me says I will lose this copy of windows but it gives me no other options. Ok I will get it going online, and that works. So I thought go to the windows site and down load the latest updates well that went 24% then error and restarted. I did that a couple of times. Then it went itself to CHECK DISC and ran a scan and found two errors and repaired them. I thought great try the drivers again. No luck error, shut down, did that three times and then it would not start again. By then it was time for bed.

Before i did this i pulled the hard drive and checked to see if the jumpers had to be changed. it said only for XP for all others it was ready to go. I will look at again tonight after the game (WJH).

Managed to finally format the hard drive in Windows 7 as outline by Detox. After formatting I reinstalled Windows an still got a disc error. I think this hard drive is no good and I think I will take it back and get a new one!
genesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 11:24 PM   #8
Solid State Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: not sure if this is the right thread to post to

I had the hard drive is toast, had it tested.
genesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 09:15 AM   #9
Solid State Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Default Re: not sure if this is the right thread to post to

Hi

My system is up and running. I had two hardware failures on new products. The Western Digital Caviar Green 2TB hard drive and one stick of the three stick set of OCZ 3G 1333 ram was junk. So much for quality control.
__________________

genesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0