Linux partitioning help

Johnh

Baseband Member
i have a computer with two hard drives. i would like to install linux on the second hard drive if possible and then dual boot them without touching any of the existing data or software.

i tried to install it from the disc and it went through most of the installation but when it got to the partitioning part it came up with an error and quit.

i just need to know what exactly i need to do to make linux run properly on my system while dual booting it and not modifying any of the existing data.

if there is an easier/better way of accomplishing this same thing please let me know!!

also i do have space left on my first hard drive so if necessary i could move some of the data to the secondary drive and partition the first drive.
the only thing is, when in the partition part of the installer it only shows my second hard drive...

im a really big noob at all of this and i have never used linux before but i want to learn! :)

thank you so much!!!
john

First, which distro are you installing?
I'll guess due to its popularity of late you were using Ubuntu.
What was the error you received when trying to partition?
Ubuntu uses a version of parted for the install which should be fairly self-explanatory.
Since you are new, I would only recommend making three partitions; a root drive, a home drive and a swap drive. If you do not know how big to make them, you may follow my advice or use the guided partitioning method.
the / (root) drive should be given about 25% of your drive... at least 5 GB or more.
Your home drive will contain all your data, so make this fairly large.
Lastly, your swap drive should be double your RAM.... or just one gig if you have a lot of RAM.

Make sure you format each drive accordingly. The / and /home partitions should be ext3 or reiser. the swap should be swap.