Linux Newbie!

compguy91

Fully Optimized
I want to make my PC able to dual-boot. I have windows XP on it now and would like to be able to boot into linux but there are some problems:
1. I've never used linux so I want a version that's easy to use and easy to learn
2. I want a free version, i've seen them around but don't know which one to get
3. I've never set up a dual boot thing before so i don't know how to do that, i don't know how to partition or any of that.
(edit) i'm thinking about getting ubuntu, i've done some googling and it seems pretty easy to work with so I'm gonna give it a shot and see what happens. as for partitioning, i'll do some googling on that and see where I end up.

like i said i'm new to this and i would appreciate the help,
Troy

Yay! Another one joins the Linux side! Anyway, go with ubuntu, it is a VERY good distro (most all linux is free, btw). Partitioning won't be hard. Ubuntu should recognize and resize the windows partition, and then hold your hand through the rest of the partitioning process :). If you come to the paritioner, and have absolutely no idea what to do, PM me or reply to this post again and I will help. Have fun with Linux!

go all out... gentoo :)!
I hope you are kidding... because for a noob, Gentoo can be a pretty hard distro to start with. Other than that, Gentoo is awesome... so fast... so configurable... I really should get more experience with it :).

RewtGuy said:
go all out... gentoo :)!
:) I've heard that's one of the hardest Distros to install. I had enough trouble trying to install Ubuntu... Imagine what would happen if I tried that one :eek:

linnerd40 said:
Did you bet Ubuntu installed? If so CONGRATULATIONS! If not, what do you need help with?