Firefox 5 now available

Kage

Golden Master
Now running Firefox 5!

Does anyone notice any speed improvement's?
I'm not sure yet.

Nothing has changed visually anyway :cool:
Except, Tools, Options, Privacy tab, now has the 'Do not track me' setting, rather than it being deeper down before in the program.

I've been running Firefox for the last several months. Last I looked it was version 4, but I ran OS updates to day and it looks like I'm now running version 5. No noticeable difference that I can tell, Firefox has always been very fast since I started using it. I'm running it in a 64 bit Linux OS with 8Gb of RAM and 3GHz quad core CPU off of a SSD, so I wouldn't expect to see much difference.

Firefox 5 release notes

Quick List of changes:

• Added support for CSS animations
  • The Do-Not-Track header preference has been moved to increase discoverability
  • Tuned HTTP idle connection logic for increased performance
  • Improved canvas, JavaScript, memory, and networking performance
  • Improved standards support for HTML5, XHR, MathML, SMIL, and canvas
  • Improved spell checking for some locales
  • Improved desktop environment integration for Linux users
  • WebGL content can no longer load cross-domain textures
  • Background tabs have setTimeout and setInterval clamped to 1000ms to improve performance
  • Fixed several stability issues
  • Fixed several security issues

why did they jump right to 5.0 instead of what should be 4.0.2? 5.0 seems like there should be a major improvement that is very noticeable. Are they just trying to copy chrome even more by just changing their version schemes like with chrome just going version 1 version 2,3 etc

why did they jump right to 5.0 instead of what should be 4.0.2? 5.0 seems like there should be a major improvement that is very noticeable. Are they just trying to copy chrome even more by just changing their version schemes like with chrome just going version 1 version 2,3 etc