Go Back   Computer Forums > General Computing > Software and Operating Systems
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today

Old 05-24-2010, 06:57 PM   #1
Solid State Member

Question Dualboot Help

I have a Lenovo s10-3t with 250GB Hard Drive.
My current partitioning looks like this:

I want to know if I can install Ubuntu Netbook Remix on a new (30GB) partition and keep my other partitions. I also want to know if it will keep my Lenovo Quick Start (Splashtop). So I want to make it so that when I turn on the computer, Lenovo Quick Start opens, the when I click exit, GRUB comes up and gives me the choice between Windows 7 and Ubuntu Netbook Remix. And I would like to do this without a disk drive.

I'm a complete noob at this so a step-by-step guide would help. And I'd like to make sure Lenovo Quick Start stays.

Ive done some dualbooting on my other laptop (Win7/Linux Mint) but I've never had something like this.

sargunster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 11:25 PM   #2
Daemon Poster

Send a message via ICQ to The_Lucas Send a message via MSN to The_Lucas Send a message via Yahoo to The_Lucas
Default Re: Dualboot Help

You could try installing Ubuntu within Windows so you can remove it like a program. Just boot into Windows and insert your flash or CD of Ubuntu. It should pop up with an option, though I have never worked with the Netbook Remix.
I don't know anything about the Lenovo Splashtop boot manager. I will do some research and post back.

http://lucasbytegeni.us
Quote:
Originally Posted by krone6 View Post
Doesn't "loatheing" something the same as "love?" Whenever i hear it be used the person "loves" that product or service or whatever it is they're talking about.
The_Lucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 07:43 AM   #3
Solid State Member

Its a Instant-on os called lenovo quick start. Its based on Splashtop.
Old 05-25-2010, 08:41 PM   #4
Daemon Poster