Can I run Linux Mint w/ 970 GPU?

frldyz

In Runtime
Can I run Mint on 3 monitors w/ i7 & GTX 970?

Forgive me if this is a newb. Linux question. But I am a newb. Linux user.

I have been playing around with mint on an old computer that I had laying around in the basement. But I'd like to replace my Win 7 with mint on my main computer

I'm asking this simple question because I recall reading that getting your graphics card to work w/ mint is a nightmare?

I7 4790k
MSI GTX 970 GPU
Gigabyte gaming 3 mobo
16gb Crucial RAM

*I'm not a gamer. So why do I have a 970? I thought it looked cool, the color scheme matches my set-up and I have 3 144mhz monitors.
**Why do I have 3 144mhz monitor if I don't game? They were dirt cheap on sale thru newegg.
*** This computer is used ONLY for online browsing. No gaming. No streaming. No movies or netflix. No wifi. No file storage. Youtube, forums, articles, emails pretty much only.

Thanks everyone.

RTFM

Just kidding. Here: https://www.techwalla.com/articles/how-to-configure-multiple-monitors-in-linux-mint

Mint is a good option since you have a wizard to install all the necessary drivers.

---------- Post added at 11:18 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:16 AM ----------

PS: It's no nightmare, in fact, chances are you won't have to do a thing other than installing.

Is it as simple as just a normal Mint OS install?
Or do I need to search for special drivers?

Is it as simple as just a normal Mint OS install?
Or do I need to search for special drivers?
Once you installed, boot into the system, go to Settings > Drivers (or some similar name, it's next to the Firewall) and select the ones you want. Normally you'll have options for your processor's microcode and graphics card drivers.

Also check the check box while installing that reads "Install third party software..." To get propietary drivers for WiFi adapters and onther misc hardware.