Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2007, 06:42 PM   #21
muz
Golden Master
 
muz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,928
Default Re: You can't create a folder with this name!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Le GoogelGuRu
I can confirm that the bush hid the facts bug doesn't work in Vista notepad.

It still won't let me name a folder CON in Vista, though.
yeah that is to do with port naming

for instance try and make an lpt1 folder , it shouldnt let you either
__________________

__________________
Desktop-AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+-2GB Elixer DDR2 800 250gb+500gb+500gb+120gb
Laptop-Apple Macbook Pro 13" Intel core i5(2.3ghz) 4gb Ram 320gb hard drive
muz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 07:26 AM   #22
Golden Master
 
Raffaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6,798
Send a message via AIM to Raffaz Send a message via MSN to Raffaz Send a message via Yahoo to Raffaz
Default Re: You can't create a folder with this name!!!!

This goes back to ancient MSDOS. Certain names were 'pre-allocated' at every directory level - those names were basicaly I/O names - CON, LPT, COMx etc.

At one time there was a switch to allow those names to exist as long as they weren't in the root dorectory - no idea if this is still true or not.

Other folder names that you can't use

con (you know that already), nul & prn

If you want to create a folder called con, you can via the CLI, here's the command:

mkdir \\.\c:\con

to remove the directory, here's the command:

rmdir \\.\\c:\con

I believe you can't use these names as they are used for batch entry.
__________________

Raffaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 04:48 PM   #23
Fully Optimized
 
spywarebanisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,135
Default Re: You can't create a folder with this name!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by UK31337
The Bush hid the facts thing is a UNICODE bug if I remember rightly. Don't know if it's still there in Vista because my machine running Vista blew up

wat happend?
spywarebanisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 05:46 PM   #24
Golden Master
 
Rubber314Chicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,574
Send a message via AIM to Rubber314Chicken
Default Re: You can't create a folder with this name!!!!

the bush hid the facts thing does work with any combo nation. its just if you edit the text, then it wouldn't work again, and you have to create a new text document
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+, 2 GB ram, 2 TB HDD, Ubuntu+SAMBA ♫ Lenovo T410, i5@ 2.4 GHz, 4 GB ram, 7
Rubber314Chicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0