Go Back   Computer Forums > Welcome To Computer Forums .org > Social Lounge | Off Topic
Click Here to Login
Join Computer forums Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2007, 12:05 PM   #11
Golden Master
 
joxley1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7,846
Send a message via AIM to joxley1990 Send a message via MSN to joxley1990
Default Re: XP on 32MB of RAM and a P2

On XP, did you use the "Adjust for best performance" trick?
__________________

joxley1990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 12:30 PM   #12
Golden Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 7,534
Default Re: XP on 32MB of RAM and a P2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackson.MacKenzie
98 is less stable than 2000; IMO 2000 was one of MS's best releases... (NOT to be confused with ME, which is without a doubt the worst).
I agree. I liked 2000 better than XP, but I'm running XP now.
__________________

LA061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 01:08 PM   #13
Daemon Poster
 
GlasseyeUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,208
Send a message via MSN to GlasseyeUK
Default Re: XP on 32MB of RAM and a P2

Umm to tbh on that specs I would just go back to Win 98......have never used 2000, so can't comment.........but used to like 98, took me a long while to transfer to XP
__________________
AMD Athlon 64, 2200 (11x200) 3700+,ASRock 939S56-M, SiS 756 AMD Hammer,NVIDIA GeForce 6600LE, 2048(DDR SDRAM), Maxtor 5A300J0 300GB 5400RPM, Ultra ATA/133)

Time tells all, but if the moment in time passes and you miss it, then you will remember it for ever!!
GlasseyeUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 01:18 PM   #14
Fully Optimized
 
Š88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,775
Send a message via MSN to Š88
Default Re: XP on 32MB of RAM and a P2

how about this? XP running on 7MHz and 20MB of RAM. http://winhistory.de/more/386/xpmini_eng.htm (scroll to the bottom)
__________________
Killing under the cloak of war is no different than murder

Kein Alkohol ist auch keine Lösung!
Š88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 01:22 PM   #15
Fully Optimized
 
mikee286's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,130
Default Re: XP on 32MB of RAM and a P2

you could start that computer before you go to bed and by time u wake up the next day it will be just about ready to go.
__________________
AMD Phenom II x6 1045T @ 2.7 Ghz, 8Gb Corsair Vengeance Ram, crucial M500 240GB SSD, 500GB WD
1.5 TB Seagate, XFX Radeon 6670 1Gb GDDR5, Windows 7 Professional 64bit
mikee286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 01:28 PM   #16
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: XP on 32MB of RAM and a P2

funnily enough im doing this on my 32mb ram, 200mhz pentium pc right now. i had to put the hdd in another comp to install though. wasnt sure how to bypass 64 mb thing... its all good so far. although ive had problems with it in the past but this is like third time lucky. so how exactly did you bypass the 64mb thing and what tweaks have you applied?
__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 01:34 PM   #17
Fully Optimized
 
mikee286's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,130
Default Re: XP on 32MB of RAM and a P2

You can install it if you have 64mb then after its installed take one of the ram modules out to get 32 or whatever.
__________________
AMD Phenom II x6 1045T @ 2.7 Ghz, 8Gb Corsair Vengeance Ram, crucial M500 240GB SSD, 500GB WD
1.5 TB Seagate, XFX Radeon 6670 1Gb GDDR5, Windows 7 Professional 64bit
mikee286 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 02:14 PM   #18
Daemon Poster
 
Anubis1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,308
Send a message via MSN to Anubis1980 Send a message via Yahoo to Anubis1980
Default Re: XP on 32MB of RAM and a P2

I liked ME lol, found it to be a good OS.
__________________
Intel C2D E6750 (1333fsb) 2.66 @3.5ghz |EVGA 680i SLI Mobo | 2GB Twin XMS ddr800 @ 875 | Leadtek 7950 GX2 Core@601 Mem@1600
500GB IBM/HITACHI Sata2 7200/16MB | 160GB 7200rpm 8mb UDMA133 Maxtor | XION 600w dual 12v 44A total SLI PSU | X-fi Xtreme Music | 22" Widescreen Acer LCD
Anubis1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 04:24 PM   #19
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: XP on 32MB of RAM and a P2

hmm i kinda have xp running good on my old machine now, except my usb mouse will work for a bit, i can move it for a bit and use it normally then it randomly freezes. the red light still flashes on the bottom though and the comp still works with the keyboard. i have to start it up in diagnostic mode from msconfig as the normal mode seems to freeze the comp on the xp screen. well it did that ever since let xp install the drivers for stuff in safe mode.
__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 03:01 PM   #20
Golden Master
 
dude_se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8,632
Send a message via AIM to dude_se Send a message via MSN to dude_se
Default Re: XP on 32MB of RAM and a P2

sorry to hijack this thread but it seemed like a good place to ask. i still have the problem with the usb mouse. i enabled on chip usb in the bios and the same happens. now it wont even boot up normally, it freezes half way through the boot screen. only safe mode works. i remember it doing this the last time i tried to get xp running on this crappy pc. what could be wrong?
__________________

__________________
Laptop spec: ASUS X53E, i5 2430m 2.4ghz, 3gb ram, 320gb hdd, intel hd graphics, usb 3.0
dude_se is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0